Victorious

Today is Saturday, January 7, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.” – Charles Spurgeon And in this age of the proliferation of “fake news,” once that lie has spread, the truth doesn’t stand a chance.

Word of the Day

Obdormition -A falling asleep; the condition of being asleep. Also, numbness of a limb, due to pressure on or injury to a nerve; the condition of being asleep.

Today is Old Rock Day. I realize this isn’t what they mean, but it’s how I choose to celebrate it.

I cooked the pot roast in our Instant Pot, last night, as planned. The process wasn’t difficult. The pot has a “saute” setting, so I put the oil in the pot, set it for saute, and then browned the roast on all sides. Then I put in a can of beef broth, some Worcestershire sauce, a bit of salt, pepper, and onion powder, and then an onion, quartered. This cooked on high pressure for 30 minutes. After that, I added all the potatoes I cut up, and cooked on high pressure for another 15 minutes. So, in 45 minutes of cooking, we had the best roast we have ever cooked in our almost 32 years together. No knives were needed, and I had to use a ladle to get it out of the pot because it was falling apart. Next up is a bacon chicken ranch recipe, possibly tomorrow after church.

Today, we are waiting on our new oven to be delivered. The window is from noon until 4:00 PM, so I might be at practice when it arrives. I have to be at Brandon’s house by 3:00 PM to begin setting up for practice. The Night of Worship begins at 6:00 PM.

49/86

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Psa 96:1  Oh sing to the LORD a new song; sing to the LORD, all the earth!

Psa 119:145  With my whole heart I cry; answer me, O LORD! I will keep your statutes.

Glory to you, Lord God of our fathers;
you are worthy of praise; glory to you.
Glory to you for the radiance of your holy Name;
we will praise you and highly exalt you for ever.
Glory to you in the splendor of your temple;
on the throne of your majesty, glory to you.
Glory to you, seated between the Cherubim;
we will praise you and highly exalt you for ever.
Glory to you, beholding the depths;
in the high vault of heaven, glory to you.
Glory to you, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit;
we will praise you and highly exalt you forever.

(A Song of Praise)

Psa 85:13  Righteousness will go before him and make his footsteps a way.

Joh 6:32-33, 51  Jesus then said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, it was not Moses who gave you the bread from heaven, but my Father gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is he who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”
“I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. And the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.”

Psa 31:19-21  Oh, how abundant is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you and worked for those who take refuge in you, in the sight of the children of mankind! In the cover of your presence you hide them from the plots of men; you store them in your shelter from the strife of tongues. Blessed be the LORD, for he has wondrously shown his steadfast love to me when I was in a besieged city.

(From The President’s Devotional)

“I feared them so little, that the terrors, which until now oppressed me, quitted me altogether; and though I saw them occasionally, I was never again afraid of them — on the contrary, they seemed to be afraid of me. I found myself endowed with a certain authority over them, given me by the Lord of all, so that I cared no more for them than for flies. They seem to be such cowards; for their strength fails them at the sight of any one who despises them. These enemies have not the courage to assail any but those whom they see ready to give in to them, or when God permits them to do so, for the greater good of His servants, whom they may try and torment.” (Teresa of Avila, “Divine Locutions”)

Jas 4:7  Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

“Our tormentors are cowards; all they need is a little resistance.” How true is this? All we need, according to Jesus, is a mustard seed’s worth of faith, and mountains will be torn down. God will amplify our faith, if we only exercise it. We must look temptation square in the face; we must stare worry and anger directly in the eyes. “Haters and despisers and enemies should get the fullness of our glare.”

Speak to them. “You will not have dominion. You will not have authority. For the Christ that is in me is bigger than the enemy within you.”

Suddenly, we will find that we have been “endowed with a certain authority over them, given [us] by the Lord of all, so that [we care] no more for them than for flies.”

We are victorious.

“Dear God, grant me victory today over all that assails. Help me square up to even the greatest challenges and claim authority over them, unafraid. Amen.”

Father, these are poignant words for me, as I go through each day, fighting temptations and powers not of this earth. Help me to “resist the devil,” and take authority over anything that would assail me. You have given me everything that I need for life and godliness. Help me to avail myself of those resources and to remember that I have them. Great are you, Lord!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

