Lists

Today is Thursday, January 12, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“The most wasted day of all is that on which we have not laughed.” – Nicolas Chamfort

Word of the Day

Willowwacks – a wooded, uninhabited area. Also, apparently, a married couple performing folk-ish music.

Today is Marzipan Day. So, once again, I give you . . . Marzipan!

I cooked with our new oven and stove top, yesterday. It works fine. First, it was just some frozen potato skins. While those were baking, I made chili on the stove top. Later, I made chocolate chip cookies. They weren’t the best we’ve ever made, but it’s not the oven’s fault. The problem was, we were out of brown sugar (this was a rather impulsive thing, because we had chocolate chips left over from the fudge C made at Christmas, so we didn’t think to check all of the ingredients before we started), so C found a recipe that didn’t use brown sugar. They tasted fine, but they were too “floury,” or something. We still have some chips left, so we might get some brown sugar at the store today and try again.

Otherwise, we continue to just chill at home for the next couple of days. We may go visit our pastor’s step-dad today or tomorrow. He is still in the hospital after having surgery to remove a cancerous spot from his mouth. He’s having a tough go of it, because he can’t eat or drink anything for around three weeks. I can’t even imagine!

It has been reported, on Yahoo!, that the San Diego Chargers are planning to move to Los Angeles. Seriously?? Don’t they already have enough teams?

44/81

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Sing aloud to God our strength; shout for joy to the God of Jacob! 
Raise a song; sound the tambourine, the sweet lyre with the harp. 
Blow the trumpet at the new moon, at the full moon, on our feast day. 
For it is a statute for Israel, a rule of the God of Jacob.
Psalm 81:1-4

Teach me your way, O LORD, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name. Psalm 86:11

My mouth will tell of your righteous acts, of your deeds of salvation all the day, for their number is past my knowledge. Psalm 71:15

Mankind will say, “Surely there is a reward for the righteous; surely there is a God who judges on earth.” Psalm 58:11

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

(From The President’s Devotional)

“If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.” John 15:18-19

We love to be on lists, don’t we?

“We feel honored to be among the most accomplished, the brightest, the powerful.” I’ve been on lists. I frequently made the Dean’s list in college. I was on the honor roll many times in public school. I got a music award as a junior in high school. It was awarded to one student per school.

But think about Jesus. He wasn’t on any of those kinds of lists. “He was counted among the outcasts, the rejects, the condemned.” Those are bad lists to be on. He was despised and rejected by men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief; and as one from whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteemed him not. (Isaiah 53:3) Jesus is a constant reminder that lists are overrated.

If we want to be a friend of the world, we will seek to be on its list of accolades. “But if we want to be a friend of the Most High, then we must seek to imitate him.”

“Dear God, let me discount the value of place and position. Help me seek first your kingdom, your character, and your righteousness. Amen.”

Father, I pray for the spiritual fortitude to seek your righteousness and holiness, rather than the approval of the world. Let me not worry about any “lists” that the world might make. At the same time, I do desire to do the best job at whatever it is I set out to do, but not for man’s approval. I also pray that I would never seek “religious experience” over your righteousness and holiness.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

