Dissatisfaction

Today is Friday, January 13, 2017. Friday the 13th. Friggatriskaidekaphobics beware.

Quote of the Day

“I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them.” – Isaac Asimov

Word of the Day

Crambo – inferior rhyme. Sounds like some kind of party game.

Today is Blame Someone Else Day. I didn’t say it was your fault; I said I was going to blame you.

So the Rosary is off for tonight. There will still be visitation for C’s step-dad, from 6:00 to 8:00 PM, but, apparently, they couldn’t find a priest to do the Rosary.

R is coming over in a little while, to have lunch with us. She’s not staying for the visitation, but will come back tomorrow for the funeral. Also, we’ll be driving to Mineral Wells tomorrow morning to pick up my mother, to bring her to the service, as well. I think I may have already said that.

Yesterday, we watched some movies from Redbox. We saw Bad Moms, which we really enjoyed. It was, as expected, somewhat silly, but, in the end, had a moral of sorts. It starred Mila Kunis, Kristen Bell, and Christina Applegate. I really like Kristen Bell, and her character was pretty adorable. Then we watched Money Monster, a movie I had never heard of, starring George Clooney and Julia Roberts. It was a dramatic thriller that was pretty good. I don’t think I ever felt quite as on edge as it wanted me to, though. Finally, we watched Miss Perigrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, which I loved, but C didn’t. It was quite strange. I still haven’t read the book, but am looking forward to reading it some day.

43/80

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually! Psalm 105:4

O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.

O God, you know my folly; the wrongs I have done are not hidden from you. Psalm 69:5

When iniquities prevail against me, you atone for our transgressions. Psalm 65:3

Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother’s eye. Luke 6:41-42

Remember your mercy, O LORD, and your steadfast love, for they have been from of old. 
Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions; according to your steadfast love remember me, for the sake of your goodness, O LORD!
Good and upright is the LORD; therefore he instructs sinners in the way.
For your name’s sake, O LORD, pardon my guilt, for it is great.
Psalm 25:6-8, 11

(From Living the Message)

“Deliver me from the liars, GOD! They smile so sweetly but lie through their teeth.” Psalm 120:2 (The Message)

This is a very timely reading. “People submerged in a culture swarming with lies and malice feel like they are drowning in it; they can trust nothing they hear, depend on no one they meet.” Never have I felt that way as much as I do at this time in our society. With the proliferation of “fake news” that people spread in support of whatever they support or don’t support, I feel as if I can believe or trust no source of information. I have friends who have literally said that they don’t care what Snopes or fact checkers say, they are still going to believe whatever they have decided to believe. Christian friends, no less. I find this to be very disturbing and disappointing.

This dissatisfaction, however, is a good jumping off point for discipleship. “The dissatisfaction, coupled with a longing for peace and truth, can set us on a pilgrim path of wholeness in God.”

We need to be thoroughly disgusted with things in order to be fully motivated to set out on this path of “the Christian way.” If we continue to think that a particular presidential candidate is going to rescue us, reduce crime, increase jobs, or establish justice; if we believe that the next “scientific breakthrough might save the environment; if we think that another pay raise will reduce our anxiety . . . “we are not likely to risk the arduous uncertainties of the life of faith.” We need to be completely fed up with the ways of the world.

Psalm 120 was written by just such a person, “sick with the lies and crippled with the hate, a person doubled up in pain over what is going on in the world.” But the pain of this outcry penetrates through all of the despair “and stimulates a new beginning–a journey to God which becomes a life of peace.”

Father, help me find this extreme dissatisfaction with the world systems and processes and the utter uselessness of them. I confess that I still find too much satisfaction in things of the world. While it is okay to utilize things of the world for some things, we must not rest in the satisfaction of the world around us. I need to be disturbed, dissatisfied, and disgusted, so that I am driven to utter dependence on you and your Spirit.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

