Childlike Trust

Today is Monday, January 16, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us. When we discover this, we are less prone to hate our enemies.” ― Martin Luther King Jr.

That reminds me of this song.

Word of the Day

Rectitude – rightness of principle or conduct; moral virtue.

Today is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. I don’t have a link to a web site for that. But it’s a day when we should all pause and consider what we are each doing to improve relationships between people of all kinds, beyond just race and skin color.

I missed my first playoff pick of the season last night when the Steelers prevailed over the Chiefs, 18-16. Earlier in the day, the Packers pulled of a last second win over the Cowboys in a game that seriously lacked defense. The final score was 34-31. We actually watched that game. Up until the last 30 seconds, that is, when the power went out due to the storm we were having. The game was tied 31-31 when the power went out, and the Packers had the ball. Twenty years ago, I would have had to wait until the power came back on to find out what happened, but last night, Facebook on my iPhone was my friend, so I knew that the Packers kicked a field goal with three seconds left in the game. I’m not unhappy about that. I was mostly rooting for the Packers. It was a fun game, but if the Cowboys hadn’t made some sloppy mistakes early in the game, they probably would have won.

Next week, the conference championships will be played. Packers vs Falcons and Patriots vs Steelers. I predict the Packers and the Patriots in the Superbowl. Or is it Super Bowl? I don’t know. Whatever.

Back to work today.

40/77

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Sing to the LORD, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day. 
Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples!
Psalm 96:2-3

O LORD, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch. Psalm 5:3

Be exalted, O LORD, in your strength! We will sing and praise your power. Psalm 21:13

Then shall all the trees of the forest sing for joy 
before the LORD, for he comes, for he comes to judge the earth. He will judge the world in righteousness, and the peoples in his faithfulness.
Psalm 96:12-13

Sing to the LORD with thanksgiving; make melody to our God on the lyre! 
He covers the heavens with clouds; he prepares rain for the earth; he makes grass grow on the hills. 
He gives to the beasts their food, and to the young ravens that cry. 
His delight is not in the strength of the horse, nor his pleasure in the legs of a man, 
but the LORD takes pleasure in those who fear him, in those who hope in his steadfast love. 
Praise the LORD, O Jerusalem! Praise your God, O Zion!
Psalm 147:7-12

(From Living the Message)

I look to you, heaven-dwelling God, look up to you for help. 
Like servants, alert to their master’s commands, like a maiden attending her lady, We’re watching and waiting, holding our breath, awaiting your word of mercy.
Psalm 123:1-2 (The Message)

“Christian faith is not neurotic dependency but childlike trust.” God does not exist to simply indulge our whims; he is a God we can trust with our destiny. “The Christian is not a naive, innocent infant who has no identity apart from a feeling of being comforted and protected and catered to but a person who has discovered an identity that is given by God which can be enjoyed best and fully in a voluntary trust in God.” Our trust and hope in God should not come out of a sense of fear, panic, and insecurity. It should come from freely given faith and love.

Father, help me along the path toward this kind of trust. Yes, I proclaim that I still need the help of your Spirit to achieve this trust, even after all of these years. Because I am human, because I am finite, because I am still imperfect, I fail in my trust of you. I do believe that I have long since passed out of that sense of fear, panic, and insecurity. Yet, those still creep up on me and surprise me from time to time. Mostly my lack of trust comes in personal areas surrounding work and other things. It’s hard to put into words, but I have faith that you understand what I mean. Give me childlike trust that is not naive.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

