Think About These Things

“Today, if we consume frantic media, gossipy conversation, indulgent stimulation, or worrisome thoughts, then we will have frantic, gossipy, indulgent, and worrisome lives.”

Today is Tuesday, January 17, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Being angry and resentful of someone is like letting them live rent-free in your head.” – George Foreman

Word of the Day

Biffy – A toilet; the room or outhouse containing this.

Today is Ditch New Year’s Resolutions Day. I didn’t make any, so . . .

I finally made it to band practice, last night. We are rehearsing for an indoor, more formal concert in early March (probably March 7), that will be Disney/Star Wars themed. We had a number of new people last night, and the room was full.

Apparently, there was some violence in Playa del Carmen, early Monday morning. I found out when one of the “Star Friends” from our 2010 trip to Cancun put out a Facebook notification that she was safe. It was the last night of their BPM Festival. That stands for “Beats Per Minute,” and it is an electronic music festival. Gunfire broke out in a club, killing five people. One person was killed in the rush of people trying to escape, and the US embassy confirmed that one was a US citizen. There are numerous comments that people who live there deal with this sort of thing every day. When we traveled to Cancun, we never felt unsafe, but we rarely left the confines of the resort. We did, however, take a local bus to a Walmart store.

39/76

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Love the LORD, all you his saints! The LORD preserves the faithful but abundantly repays the one who acts in pride. Psalm 31:23

You are my God, and I will give thanks to you; you are my God; I will extol you. Psalm 118:28

I rise before dawn and cry for help; I hope in your words. Psalm 119:147

Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him. John 14:21

(From The President’s Devotional)

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Philippians 4:8

The soul is dyed the color of its thoughts. Think only on those things that are in line with your principles and can bear the full light of day. The content of your character is your choice. Day by day, what you choose, what you think, and what you do is who you become. Your integrity is your destiny . . . it is the light that guides your way.

(From Meditations, by Marcus Aurelius)

We are all aware that extra calories we consume will eventually be stored as fat in our bodies. We also know that a dollar put into a savings account will grow based on the current interest rate. There is no mystery in either case.

What we tend to forget is that the same is true, spiritually. “Today, if we consume frantic media, gossipy conversation, indulgent stimulation, or worrisome thoughts, then we will have frantic, gossipy, indulgent, and worrisome lives.” If we abide by the words of Philippians, quoted above, and the advice of Marcus Aurelius, “our character and our peace will grow stronger.”

“Dear God, help me purify my thoughts. When I am distracted, help me constantly refocus on the things that matter most. Amen.”

Father, I echo Joshua’s prayer. I get too easily distracted. My thoughts are scattered and they wander. I get caught up in the frantic media if I am not cautious. Help me to ignore that stuff, and to not be involved in “gossipy conversation” or “worrisome thoughts.” Especially the worrisome thoughts. I am so guilty of those. Teach me the calmness and peace that comes from thinking and meditating on your words.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Think About These Things

Leave a Reply

