Generously and Graciously

Today is Wednesday, January 18, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“People say nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.”
― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Word of the Day

Katzenjammer – uneasiness; anguish; distress.

Today is Winnie the Pooh Day, so named because Winnie the Pooh’s (aka “Edward Bear”) creator, A.A. Milne was born on this date in 1882. Pooh, along with friends, Piglet, Tigger, and Eeyore, made his first appearance in 1926.

I cooked another dish in the pressure cooker last night, a Creamy Ranch Chicken recipe. It was tasty, but I didn’t feel that the chicken got tender enough. Perhaps I had too much chicken in the recipe. Still, it was quite good. I made some rice to serve with it. We might have the mac and cheese recipe again tonight. We shall see how we are feeling after work.

There really isn’t much else going on to speak of.

38/75

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

But I call to God, and the LORD will save me. 
Evening and morning and at noon I utter my complaint and moan, and he hears my voice. 
He redeems my soul in safety from the battle that I wage, for many are arrayed against me. 
God will give ear and humble them, he who is enthroned from of old, Selah. because they do not change and do not fear God.
Psalm 55:17-19

O God, save me by your name, and vindicate me by your might. 
O God, hear my prayer; give ear to the words of my mouth.
Psalm 54:1-2

I will offer to you the sacrifice of thanksgiving and call on the name of the LORD. Psalm 116:17

The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. Psalm 145:18

Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it. Luke 18:17

(From Living the Message)

When the time came, he set aside the privileges of deity and took on the status of a slave, became human! 
Having become human, he stayed human. It was an incredibly humbling process. He didn’t claim special privileges. Instead, he lived a selfless, obedient life and then died a selfless, obedient death—and the worst kind of death at that: a crucifixion.
Philippians 2:7-8

Too often, we think of God as a being who sits far away and sends “diplomatic messages” to us. Nothing could be further from the truth. “God gets down on his knees among us; gets on our level and shares himself with us.” That’s what he did when Jesus came to earth, setting aside his privilege, taking “on the status of a slave.” This is a part of God’s “good news.” He shares himself with us, “generously and graciously.”

Father, when I begin to think of you in terms of a heavenly father who sits way off and sends vague messages to us, help me to remember who you truly are. Help me to remember that you, in the form of Jesus, gave up a piece of heaven to come down and be born in a mundane, dirty animal shed (or cave). Help me to remember that Jesus walked the earth and got his feet dirty. I cannot even begin to fathom the humility of leaving the beauty and majesty of heaven to walk on earth as a seemingly finite human. So when I start thinking that you don’t know or understand what I’m going through, remind me that, oh, yes! You do!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

