When We Don’t Know What To Pray

Today is Friday, January 20, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Word of the Day

Asseverate – to declare earnestly or solemnly; affirm positively; aver.

Today is Cheese Lovers Day. That is definitely for me! I love cheese!!

Today is Inauguration Day. I don’t have time to put down everything that is on my mind, this morning, so that’s all I’m going to say about that. Almost. I will say that I sincerely wish that all of the blatant hypocrisy from both sides would just stop. It’s disgusting.

We hung out with some good friends, last night. That’s rare for us on a week night. We have this thing I mentioned before. It’s a “Missional Gathering.” It is designed to eventually incorporate people who wouldn’t otherwise attend church services, by doing things like backyard barbecues, or things like that. In our case, it centers around our monthly “Night of Worship,” which happens at one of the couples’ home. Anyway, we had an awesome time, last night. Each of us picked up something to eat on the way over, and we just sat around and talked about whatever came up for about ninety minutes. At the end, we briefly discussed our next Night of Worship, and when our next gathering would be.

I’m so ready for this weekend.

36/73

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh sing to the LORD a new song; sing to the LORD, all the earth! Psalm 96:1

With my whole heart I cry; answer me, O LORD! I will keep your statutes. Psalm 119:145

Glory to you, Lord God of our fathers;
you are worthy of praise; glory to you.
Glory to you for the radiance of your holy Name;
we will praise you and highly exalt you for ever.
Glory to you in the splendor of your temple;
on the throne of your majesty, glory to you.
Glory to you, seated between the Cherubim;
we will praise you and highly exalt you for ever.
Glory to you, beholding the depths;
in the high vault of heaven, glory to you.
Glory to you, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit;
we will praise you and highly exalt you for ever.
(A Song of Praise)

Righteousness will go before him and make his footsteps a way. Psalm 85:13

(From The President’s Devotional)

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. Romans 8:26

“When we don’t know what to pray.

“When concern stacks upon concern, and tasks seem to merge together, and the demands on our psyche stretch us thin.

“When we’re needed, and we’re goaded, and we’re misunderstood; when the lump in our throat expands and blocks out words.

“That’s when the Spirit steps in, with ‘groanings too deep for words.’ The Spirit of God brings our message to the Father when we can’t articulate it ourselves. When we’re at wit’s end. The Spirit prays for us when we don’t know what to pray.

. . . Amen.”

I don’t have much to add to this. Just that it is truth. It is truth that we forget all too often. Let us rely on the presence of the Holy Spirit in our lives, who will intercede for us when we don’t know what to pray.

Father, help me to believe this; help me to depend upon it, so that, in those moments, when I am at a loss for words, I can be confident that you have heard my prayer, as voiced by the Spirit. Hallelujah!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

