The Hazard of Faith

Today is Sunday, January 22, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Intense feeling too often obscures the truth.” – Harry S Truman

Word of the Day

Talisman – anything whose presence exercises a remarkable or powerful influence on human feelings or actions.

Today is Celebration of Life Day, a day set aside to show appreciation to our children and grandchildren. Take some time to appreciate what special people your children and grandchildren have become.

Definitely not much to write about on a personal level, this morning. C continues to struggle with her bronchial asthma. She did rest quite a bit, yesterday, though. I have a PAT (Pastoral Assist Team) meeting after church today. Most people know how I feel about meetings.

We are getting ready for our worship gathering this morning. We worship with The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach St., in Fort Worth. The gathering begins at 10:15 AM.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Praise the LORD! I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart, in the company of the upright, in the congregation. Psalm 111:1

. . . that they may know that you alone, whose name is the LORD, are the Most High over all the earth. Psalm 83:18

But I will hope continually and will praise you yet more and more. Psalm 71:14

The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone. Psalm 118:22

“Give us grace, O Lord, to answer readily the call of our Savior Jesus Christ and proclaim to all people the Good News of his salvation, that we and the whole world may perceive the glory of his marvelous works; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.”~~The Divine Hours

(From Living the Message)

If you don’t go all the way with me, through thick and thin, you don’t deserve me. If your first concern is to look after yourself, you’ll never find yourself. But if you forget about yourself and look to me, you’ll find both yourself and me. Matthew 10:38-39

“What is hazardous in my life is my work as a Christian. Every day I put faith on the line. I have never seen God. In a world where nearly everything can be weighed, explained, quantified, subjected to psychological analysis and scientific control I persist in making the center of my life a God whom no eye has seen, nor ear heard, whose will no one can probe. That’s a risk.”

Jesus, there are many day that I don’t deserve you. There are many days that I don’t pick up my cross and carry it for you. There are many days that my first concern is me. I confess and ask your forgiveness for these days. Help me to find myself in you every day. Help me to go out and put faith on the line every day, wherever my feet and your will take me. I have never seen you, either, yet I believe in you. I am willing to be thought a fool for the sake of the truth of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

