We Walk in Hope

Today is Monday, January 23, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“The opportunity is often lost by deliberating.” – Publilius Syrus

Word of the Day

FroideurFrench. an attitude of haughty aloofness; cold superiority.

Today is Pie Day. Have yourself some pie today. And remember, pie doesn’t have to be sweet. It can be savory, as well.

So we had our PAT meeting, yesterday. The main thing that came out of it was some added responsibility to the PAT members. PAT stands for Pastoral Assist Team. They are asking us to be, more or less, deacons, by assuming some responsibility in caring for members of the church. The interesting thing is that we were all asked to pick several members for which we would like to assume that role.

Band practice is tonight, so it will be a late night for me. We are preparing for an indoor, more formal concert on March 7.

I missed one of my picks in football, yesterday. Badly, in fact. The Falcons totally embarrassed Aaron Rodgers and the Packers, beating them 44-21. The Steelers didn’t fare much better against the Patriots. They lost 36-17. So the Superbowl will be Falcons against Patriots. The Falcons have, according to what I heard a broadcaster say, only been to the big game one other time. The Patriots will go for an NFL record ninth time. Based on the way the Falcons were playing yesterday, they have a good chance of winning that game. It will be played in Houston on February 5.

33/70

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

My mouth is filled with your praise, and with your glory all the day. Psalm 71:8

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. Psalm 119:105

O God, from my youth you have taught me, and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds. Psalm 71:17

This is the LORD’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes. Psalm 118:23

May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah. 
that your way may be known on earth, your saving power among all nations. 
Let the peoples praise you, O God; let all the peoples praise you! 
Let the nations be glad and sing for joy, for you judge the peoples with equity and guide the nations upon earth. Selah. 
Let the peoples praise you, O God; let all the peoples praise you! 
The earth has yielded its increase; God, our God, shall bless us. 
God shall bless us; let all the ends of the earth fear him!
Psalm 67

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Pray then like this: “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name. 
  Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. 
  Give us this day our daily bread, 
and forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. 
And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.
Matthew 6:9-13

(From Living the Message)

GOD’s strong name is our help, the same GOD who made heaven and earth. Psalm 124:8 (The Message)

Every day, when we walk out the front door to venture out into the world, we put hope on the line. We have no clue about the future, either immediate or long term. We honestly don’t know if we will make it to work alive. “There may be sickness, personal or world catastrophe. Before the day is over [we] may have to deal with death, pain, loss, rejection.” In spite of all of this, we, “surrounded by tinny optimists and cowardly pessimists,” proclaim that God’s will will be accomplished. We live in the hope that nothing can separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus (Romans 8:39)

Father, I seem to have this hope. At times it seems crazy, this kind of hope. As I look at the world around me (which is usually a mistake, as I should be looking at you), it seems impossible to hope. But when I turn my eyes and my heart toward you, looking at you in faith, the hope wells up within me, and I feel unshakable. Help me to stay unshakable throughout the day. I pray that the hope that resides in my spirit, by the your grace and the power of your Spirit, will overflow and affect people around me. Help me to walk in your Kingdom, in the easy yoke of Jesus.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

