Hold On Loosely

Today is Tuesday, January 24, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.” – Henry Adams

Word of the Day

Intrapeneur – an employee of a large corporation who is given freedom and financial support to create new products, services, systems, etc., and does not have to follow the corporation’s usual routines or protocols.

Today is Belly Laugh Day. Go ahead. Have a good laugh. It’s good for you.

I’ve figure out, through bits and pieces of information, that our community band director is planning something quite complicated and involved for this spring’s concert. Apparently, as we play excerpts from every Disney movie ever made, there will be video playing above us, and I gather that he even plans to have some people singing some of the songs while we are playing. There are also some Star Wars pieces in the mix, too. I don’t know if there will be video for those.

32/69

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise. Psalm 51:16

Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law. Psalm 119:18

I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever. Psalm 86:12

For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God? Psalm 18:32

(From The President’s Devotional)

O LORD our God, all this abundance that we have provided for building you a house for your holy name comes from your hand and is all your own. 1 Chronicles 29:16

All of our riches, with which we do anything in our lives, come from God. God’s hand provided them. In truth, they all belong to him. Therefore, we should hold on loosely, and “let them flow through us to worthy causes.” I hesitate to use words like “worthy causes,” because there are a lot of “causes” in this world that people deem “worthy.” However, we should hold on to our possessions with an open hand, rather than a closed fist, and be willing to sacrifice them to whoever crosses our path that might need them more than we do.

“We pray the same pray of David before the Israelites today: All this abundance you’ve given us, dear God, is from your hand. It is all your own. With our words, actions, and lives, we’ll build your house today. Amen.”

Father, this is, indeed, a principle that you have been teaching me in the past decade or so. I hold on to my “stuff” much more loosely than I used to. I thank you for that. However, I could still use more generosity in my life. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

