The Content of Our Lives

“We speak our words of praise in a world that is hellish; we sing our songs of victory in a world where things get messy; we live our joy among people who neither understand nor encourage us. But the content of our lives is God, not man.”

Today is Wednesday, January 25, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Looking back, I have this to regret, that too often when I loved, I did not say so.” – Ray Stannard Baker

Word of the Day

Lovanenty – An exclamation of surprise.

Today is Opposite Day. Do with that what you will. Or don’t. I don’t want you to enjoy Opposite Day.

I made “Cheeseburger Pie” for dinner last night, a new recipe that I got from a friend at work. It was quite delicious, and will definitely happen again at our house. It’s not difficult at all. Brown ground beef and onion together, then put it in a pie plate. Mix up some Bisquick, milk, and eggs. Put shredded cheese and some salt on top of the beef, then pour the Bisquick mixture over everything, then bake for 25 minutes at 400 degrees. It’s that simple. Tonight, S is asking for the mac and cheese from the Instant Pot. So that will probably happen.

Not much else going on.

31/68

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Until further notice, all Psalms quotations will be from The Message

Do for GOD what you said you’d do— he is, after all, your God. Let everyone in town bring offerings to the One Who Watches our every move. Psalm 76:11

Let my cry come right into your presence, GOD; provide me with the insight that comes only from your Word. 
Give my request your personal attention, rescue me on the terms of your promise.
Psalm 119:169-170

I’m ready now to worship, so ready. I thank you, GOD—you’re so good. Psalm 54:6

Your words are so choice, so tasty; I prefer them to the best home cooking. Psalm 119:103

Hallelujah! Thank GOD! And why? Because he’s good, because his love lasts. 
  But who on earth can do it— declaim GOD’s mighty acts, broadcast all his praises? 
You’re one happy man when you do what’s right, one happy woman when you form the habit of justice. 
Remember me, GOD, when you enjoy your people; include me when you save them; 
I want to see your chosen succeed, celebrate with your celebrating nation, join the Hallelujahs of your pride and joy!
Psalm 106:1-5

(From Living the Message)

A pilgrim song of David. If GOD hadn’t been for us —all together now, Israel, sing out!— 
  If GOD hadn’t been for us when everyone went against us, 
  We would have been swallowed alive by their violent anger, 
Swept away by the flood of rage, drowned in the torrent; 
We would have lost our lives in the wild, raging water. 
Oh, blessed be GOD! He didn’t go off and leave us. He didn’t abandon us defenseless, helpless as a rabbit in a pack of snarling dogs. 
We’ve flown free from their fangs, free of their traps, free as a bird. Their grip is broken; we’re free as a bird in flight. 
  GOD’s strong name is our help, the same GOD who made heaven and earth.
Psalm 124

The person in Psalm 124 has dug deeply into the trouble of his life and found that God is there. “Faith develops out of the most difficult aspects of our existence, not the easiest.” People of faith, as a general rule, are not people who have been born with a proverbial silver spoon in their mouths. Outsiders assume that Christians are naive or over-protected. The truth is, “Christians know more about the deep struggles of life than others, more about the ugliness of sin.”

When we look to the heavens, we see majesty and breathtaking wonder, and, if we are believers, we respond with praise to the God who created the heavens and the earth. This psalm, however, looks the other direction. “It looks into the troubles of history, the anxiety of personal conflict and emotional trauma. And it sees there the God who is on our side, God can help.” It sees in the flood waters and “dragon’s terrors,” the work of God who delivers.

“We speak our words of praise in a world that is hellish; we sing our songs of victory in a world where things get messy; we live our joy among people who neither understand nor encourage us. But the content of our lives is God, not man.”

There’s more to come: We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue, keeping us alert for whatever God will do next. Romans 5:3-4 (The Message)

Father, as I head out into this messy world today, may I sing songs of victory and live your joy among all the people at my workplace and in between. May I speak words of praise and encouragement that come straight from your Holy Spirit, rather than words of discouragement and complaint. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

