The Importance of Prayer

“The single most important action contributing to whatever health and strength there is in our land is prayer.”

Today is Thursday, January 26, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Wherever there is a human being, there is an opportunity for a kindness.” – Lucius Annaeus Seneca

Word of the Day

Fulminate – to issue denunciations or the like (usually followed by against): The minister fulminated against legalized vice.

Today is Spouse’s Day, a day set aside to recognize and appreciate your spouse, but especially for those who are spouses of military people. I, for one, am very appreciative my spouse and all that she is to me.

S got her wish last night. I made mac and cheese in the Instant Pot again. It was, as usual, quite good. This time, I let the pressure release on its own, instead of opening the quick release valve. It was much less messy, and only took about twenty minutes, I think. Might have been a little less. The last time I did the quick release, it spewed liquid cheese everywhere. C added tuna to hers, and I added chili to mine. And there was enough left over for S to have for lunch today.

Not much else going on around here. C is feeling better each day, so that’s good. And it’s only one day until Friday!

30/67

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Know this: GOD is God, and God, GOD. He made us; we didn’t make him. We’re his people, his well-tended sheep. Psalm 100:3

God, the one and only— I’ll wait as long as he says. Everything I hope for comes from him, so why not? Psalm 62:6

What you say goes—it always has. “Beauty” and “Holy” mark your palace rule, GOD, to the very end of time. Psalm 93:5

Blessed are you who enter in GOD’s name— from GOD’s house we bless you! Psalm 118:26

(From Living the Message)

The seventh Angel trumpeted. A crescendo of voices in Heaven sang out, The kingdom of the world is now the Kingdom of our God and his Messiah! He will rule forever and ever! Revelation 11:15

“Prayer is political action. Prayer is social energy. Prayer is public good. Far more of our nation’s life is shaped by prayer than is formed by legislation. That we have not collapsed into anarchy is due more to prayer than to the police. Prayer is a sustained and intricate act of patriotism in the largest sense of the word–far more precise and loving and preserving than any patriotism served up in slogans. That society continues to be livable and that hope continues to be resurgent are attributable to prayer far more than to business prosperity or a flourishing of the arts. The single most important action contributing to whatever health and strength there is in our land is prayer. Not the only thing, of course, for God uses all things to effect his sovereign will, and the ‘all things’ most certainly includes police and artists, senators and professors, therapists and steelworkers. But prayer is, all the same, the source action.”

This devotional book is twenty years old. Yet, today’s reading is, by far, the most timely devotional reading I may have ever encountered. There’s no way Eugene Peterson could have known what kind of political climate would be prevalent on January 26, 2017. I’m not going to make any other comments other than to say we need to be praying harder than ever.

Father, show me how to pray. I’m really struggling right now with how to pray about the way things are, right now. I need your wisdom and I need your words. I am clinging to the promise that your Spirit intercedes for me when I don’t know how to pray. I pray for peace in our country. I pray for wisdom for our leaders. I pray that we, as your people, would walk in the words of Jesus, and consider others to be more important than ourselves.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

