Come . . . Behold

Today is Wednesday, February 1, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Love is supreme and unconditional; like is nice but limited.” – Duke Ellington

Word of the Day

Ataraxia – a state of freedom from emotional disturbance and anxiety; tranquillity. I like that one. That’s my goal. Ataraxia.

Today is Serpent Day. It’s really less about snakes and more about coming to grips with our fears. “You could spend this time contemplating some of your key life experiences and deciding what lessons they’ve taught you and how you could use this knowledge to improve your life in the future.”

The memorial service yesterday was long, but nice. It seems to have gone very well. The portion at the church lasted just over an hour, as there were two ministers speaking, a couple of songs, and three other people giving a sort of eulogy. I have to confess that one of them didn’t make a whole lot of sense, but perhaps it meant something to the family, so I won’t pass judgment on it.

After the church service, S, Mama, and I drove on out to the cemetery, rather than going in the procession. It turns out that their grave sight is literally a stone’s throw away from my father’s. The graveside service was nice, as well. I learned a lot about this man, yesterday. He was very involved in his community, and well-loved by pretty much everyone. It was nice to reconnect with a couple of family members that I had not seen since high school years. Some of them even remembered me. My friend’s younger brother would not have, as he was only six when we graduated from HS.

S and I got home just before 5:00 PM, quite exhausted from the day. I sat down and opened Facebook, only to be shocked by the news that another of our classmates from 1976 had passed away, yesterday! It was almost too much. Even though I joke about being “old,” we really aren’t, yet.

We have no plans for today, other than work, and then just resting afterward. Tomorrow night is our bi-weekly Night of Worship team gathering, and we will be preparing for the actual Night of Worship, which occurs this Saturday night at 6:00 PM.

24/61

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness; tremble before him, all the earth! Psalm 96:9

May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah. Psalm 67:1

Seven times a day I praise you for your righteous rules. Psalm 119:164

Oh, guard my soul, and deliver me! Let me not be put to shame, for I take refuge in you. 
May integrity and uprightness preserve me, for I wait for you.
Psalm 25:20-21

I’m out of time, this morning. It seems to have gotten away from me. I will leave with words from Psalm 46. Verse 8 says, Come, behold the works of the LORD! This is not always easy, as plenty of other things demand our attention.

Father, I pray that you would direct me, by your Spirit, to remember to behold your works today, when the traffic and work responsibilities and everything else demands my attention. Let me not forget you and your works, your words, your promises. May I dwell in you and you in me.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

