Ruthlessly Eliminate Hurry

Today is Friday, February 3, 2017. The day music died, fifty-eight years ago.

Quote of the Day

“When a person is lucky enough to live inside a story, to live inside an imaginary world, the pains of this world disappear. For as long as the story goes on, reality no longer exists.” ― Paul Auster, The Brooklyn Follies

Word of the Day

Cloudland – the sky. Also, a region of unreality, imagination, etc.; dreamland.

Today is known in the music world as The Day Music Died. It was on this date in 1959 that the plane carrying Ritchie Valens, Buddy Holly, and J.P. Richardson (aka, The Big Bopper), crashed shortly after taking off in Clear Lake, Iowa. I was less than one year old, at the time, so I certainly don’t remember it. But I still feel the effects of it, to this day. Here’s the video I share every year on this date (if I am reminded), made by a group of professionals who wanted to represent the song American Pie, by Don McLean.

My favorite of the three who were on that plane was always The Big Bopper. Unfortunately, the only song of his that is ever heard on the radio is Chantilly Lace. I grew up listening to this single of Little Red Riding Hood.

Our gathering last night was, once again, a great time. This has become a quite enjoyable time for us. C and I picked up Subway salads on the way, and ate them there. We talked about whatever came to our minds, laughed a lot, and then talked about the upcoming Night of Worship, scheduled for this Saturday evening.

Today is Friday, and nothing is scheduled for tonight. I hope to get in some time on the PS4 tonight, after we watch some TV and eat dinner.

22/59

Two months until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods.
Psalm 95:1, 3

I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God; incline your ear to me; hear my words. Psalm 17:6

The unfolding of your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple. Psalm 119:130

Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. 
My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.
But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord GOD my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.
Psalm 73:25-26, 28

(From Living the Message)

After commanding, in verse 8, “Come, behold the works of the LORD,” Psalm 46, in verse 10, gives us a word that is well known to many, “Be still, and know that I am God.”

Be still. Quit rushing through the streets long enough to become aware that there is more to life than your little self-help enterprises. When we are noisy and when we are hurried, we are incapable of intimacy–deep, complex, personal relationships. If God is the living center of redemption, it is essential that we be in touch with and responsive to that personal will. If God has a will for this world and we want to be in on it, we must be still long enough to find out what it is (for we certinaly are not going to learn by watching the evening news). Baron von Hugul, who had a wise word on most subjects, always held out that ‘nothing was ever accomplished in a stampede.’

Dallas Willard once told John Ortberg, in a conversation, “You must ruthlessly eliminate hurry from your life.” That’s an awesome way of saying, “Be still and know that I am God.” We should all heed that advice.

“Step out of the traffic! Take a long, loving look at me, your High God, above politics, above everything.” Psalm 46:10 in The Message

Father, teach me this. I latched onto Dallas Willard’s statement last year, but seem to have forgotten it. Help me to accomplish this, to ruthlessly eliminate hurry from my life. This, of course, requires more discipline, which I am aching for in this year. Help me to be still and know that you are God. To stop and look for you, listen for you, to know you in a deep, complex, and intimate way.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

