Am I Imitable?

Today is Saturday, February 4, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“If you wish to be loved, love.” – Lucius Annaeus Seneca

Word of the Day

Feinschmecker – gourmet.

Today is Take Your Child To the Library Day. That should be every day. Take yourself to the library, too. Free books!

Really not much going on this morning, that I haven’t already written about. Night of Worship tonight, church tomorrow. May or may not watch the Super Bowl. Heck, we may go to the grocery store during the Super Bowl. I remember one time, we went to 24 Hour Fitness, and there may have been one other person in the whole gym.

21/58

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh sing to the LORD a new song; sing to the LORD, all the earth! Psalm 96:1

With my whole heart I cry; answer me, O LORD! I will keep your statutes. Psalm 119:145

Your righteousness, O God, reaches the high heavens. You who have done great things, O God, who is like you? Psalm 71:19

Let this be recorded for a generation to come, so that a people yet to be created may praise the LORD: Psalm 102:18

(From The President’s Devotional)

Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ. 1 Corinthians 11:1

“Dear God, our prayer today is this: when we are not walking in your footsteps, we want no one to follow behind us. When we’re not worthy of imitation, let the shadow of our presence be short indeed. But when we mimic you–when we work, and love, and pray like you–only then, send us imitators. So that others will follow not us, but Christ. Amen.”

Father, I would echo this prayer. May your Spirit drive my life so that it would be imitable. I have nothing of my own that is worthy of imitation. Only what you bring; only what you provide; only what you place within me is imitable. Teach me these things, that others might see something worthy of imitation within me.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

