O Come, Let Us Sing

Today is Sunday, February 5, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“It’s amazing how a little tomorrow can make up for a whole lot of yesterday.” ― John Guare, Landscape of the Body

Word of the Day

Juggernaut – any large, overpowering, destructive force or object, as war, a giant battleship, or a powerful football team.

Today is World Nutella Day. Personally, I’m not crazy about Nutella. I know a number of people who love the stuff, though. I don’t hate it, mind you. It just doesn’t appeal to me that much.

The Night of Worship was fabulous, last night. It may have been the best one we’ve ever had. And most certainly not because of anything musically, although we did make some pretty awesome harmonies. But the presence of God was evident, and people prayed and worshiped like never before, including those of us in the band. Thank you, Father, a wonderful evening!

Plus, one of our friends made this dip stuff to put on Ritz crackers which may have been the best thing I have ever tasted! She called it Jalapeno Popper Dip. Oh, man. She gave us the recipe.

This morning, we are getting ready for our worship gathering. We worship with The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach St., Fort Worth, TX.

20/57

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation! 
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!
Psalm 95:1-2

Give ear, O Shepherd of Israel, you who lead Joseph like a flock. You who are enthroned upon the cherubim, shine forth. 
  Before Ephraim and Benjamin and Manasseh, stir up your might and come to save us! 
  Restore us, O God; let your face shine, that we may be saved!
Psalm 80:1-3

It is good to give thanks to the LORD, to sing praises to your name, O Most High; 
to declare your steadfast love in the morning, and your faithfulness by night,
Psalm 92:1-2

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. 
In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?
Psalm 56:3-4

Here is a simple rule of thumb for behavior: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you; then grab the initiative and do it for them! 
If you only love the lovable, do you expect a pat on the back? Run-of-the-mill sinners do that. 
  If you only help those who help you, do you expect a medal? Garden-variety sinners do that. 
If you only give for what you hope to get out of it, do you think that’s charity? The stingiest of pawnbrokers does that. 
I tell you, love your enemies. Help and give without expecting a return. You’ll never—I promise—regret it. Live out this God-created identity the way our Father lives toward us, generously and graciously, even when we’re at our worst.
Luke 6:31-35, The Message

How can a young man keep his way pure? By guarding it according to your word. 
With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments! 
  I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you. 
Blessed are you, O LORD; teach me your statutes! 
With my lips I declare all the rules of your mouth. 
In the way of your testimonies I delight as much as in all riches. 
I will meditate on your precepts and fix my eyes on your ways. 
I will delight in your statutes; I will not forget your word.
Psalm 119:9-16

“Set me free, O God, from the bondage of my sins, and give me the liberty of that abundant life which you have made known to me in your Son our Savior Jesus Christ; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever. Amen.” (The Divine Hours)

Father, all of these Psalms spoke to me, this morning. I pray that the wisdom of the Psalms will permeate my life and spirit, today and everyday. I have found such delight and comfort in the Psalter, and I pray that you would, by your Spirit, direct me back to that place in my life. Teach me, according to your words. Show me the way to walk in your words, that I might be one who calls upon you unceasingly. Teach me your was, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

