Today is Monday, February 6, 2017. Seven days until pitchers and catchers begin reporting for Spring Training.

Quote of the Day

“The world is governed more by appearances than realities, so that it is fully as necessary to seem to know something as to know it.” – Daniel Webster (1782 – 1852)

Word of the Day

Paralogize – to draw conclusions that do not follow logically from a given set of assumptions.

Today is Frozen Yogurt Day. Known by a variety of mash-ups, such as “FroYo,” and “Frogurt,” this concoction is believed by many to be better than ice cream. While it may be better for you than ice cream (although I’m skeptical about that), it most certainly is not better than ice cream. I think all the people who say that frozen yogurt is better than ice cream are the same people who pretend to like seaweed.

I wound up going to the grocery store during the first part of the Super Bowl, last night. It wasn’t as empty as I thought it might be, but it wasn’t crowded, either. The only thing I had trouble finding was bananas (they had about four or five bunches left, and the were all really green), and Sprite. Both of these baffle me. I can’t imagine why there would be a run on bananas for Super Bowl parties, nor can I understand the complete absence of any cans of Sprite in the store. There were a couple of 24-packs of regular Sprite, but no 12-packs, and no cans at all could be found of Sprite Zero, which is what C likes to drink. I finally got a six-pack of 12-ounce bottles. The only thing I can think is that maybe people needed them for drink mixers? That still doesn’t explain the bananas.

After I got home, I played on the PS4 for a while, then decided to check in on the game. I’m actually glad I did! We started watching early in the third quarter, when the score was 21-3, Falcons. Very shortly after that, the Falcons scored again, making the score 28-3. At least one of my FB friends who is a Pats fan had already given up. That’s so silly. Have they not learned? We sat there and watched in utter amazement as Tom Brady “woke up” and engineered one of the greatest comeback I’ve ever seen, forcing the first Super Bowl overtime in the history of the game. The Pats won the toss and promptly drove down the field to score the winning touchdown, making history for the team, for Tom Brady, and Bill Belichick. I know a lot of people just can’t stand Tom Brady, but he is, arguably, the best QB that has ever played the game. This morning, I kept seeing people call him “GOAT.” It took me a little bit, but I finally broke it down. “Greatest Of All Time.”

19/56

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness. Psalm 84:10

O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer; give ear, O God of Jacob! Selah. Psalm 84:8

The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation—
For this I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations, and sing to your name.
Psalm 18:46, 49

The heavens are the LORD’s heavens, but the earth he has given to the children of man. Psalm 115:16

“Show us your mercy O Lord; and grant us your salvation.
Clothe your ministers with righteousness; let your people sing with joy.
Give peace, O Lord, in all the world; for only in you can we live in safety.”
(The Divine Hours)

Father, how lovely, indeed, is your dwelling place! Better is one day in your courts than thousands elsewhere. I pray that you would draw me closer to your dwelling place, closer to your heart, closer to your Spirit. May I find solace in your words today, as I go about my usual day’s business. May my day be full of you and full of your grace.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

