Better Than Newspapers

Today is Tuesday, February 7, 2017. Six more days until pitchers and catchers report.

Quote of the Day

“If you fell down yesterday, stand up today.” – H. G. Wells

Bonus quote: “If you ask me anything I don’t know, I’m not going to answer.” – Yogi Berra

Word of the Day

BonzerAustralian. remarkable; wonderful.

Today is Send A Card To A Friend Day. I suspect this day is sponsored by Hallmark or American Greetings. However, it’s a nice idea. People don’t write letters or send cards much any more. It would be a nice thing to do, especially if there is no special occasion. Just a card, “out of the blue.”

Band practice was fun, last night. The regular conductor was out on a trip, and the HS band director led our rehearsal. He’s always nicer to us. Haha! We’ve picked up two new trombone players, this year, which is nice, especially since two of our regulars were out last night. A new French Horn player showed up last night, as well, and said she was a student at UNT. We don’t often get active students in the band.

The rest of this week should be pretty quiet and uneventful. One can hope.

18/55

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor. No good thing does he withhold from those who walk uprightly. 
O LORD of hosts, blessed is the one who trusts in you!
Psalm 84:11-12

I rise before dawn and cry for help; I hope in your words. Psalm 119:147

But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation. Psalm 13:5

The heavens are yours; the earth also is yours; the world and all that is in it, you have founded them. Psalm 89:11

(From Living the Message)

How many people have prayed and then declared that no answer, no help came? “I prayed and cried out for help, but no help came,” they might say. But help did come, didn’t it? I’m reminded of a “preacher story,” involving a man trapped on the roof of his house, with flood waters rising. He prayed for God to help him. A boat came by, offering help, but the man refused, saying “God’s going to save me.” A helicopter came by, offering help, but the man refused, saying, “No, thanks, God’s got this!” When the man eventually died, he stood before God and complained, “Why didn’t you save me?” God’s reply? “I sent a boat and a helicopter! What more do you want?”

In all seriousness, is it possible that we are looking in a different direction and miss the help that God may have sent? “Instead of asking why the help has not come, the person at prayer learns to look carefully at what is actually going on in his or life, in this history, its leaders, its movements, its peoples, and ask, ‘Could this be the help that he is providing? I never thought of this in terms of help, but maybe it is.'”

Peterson even says that prayer gives us a better way of seeing reality than the newspapers. In The Diary of a Country Priest, the priest says, “The Word was made Flesh and not one of the journalists of those days even knew it was happening.”

Sometimes, we see the help long after it has come. I had a really nice conversation with my mother last night. We talked about opportunities that her and my father had, in the past, to move to another location. There was an opportunity, many years ago, for him to transfer to east Texas (my grandparents were still alive at the time). He passed on it. What a blessing to look back at that now and see God’s wisdom in that decision! My mother would be all alone out there, now! There were other opportunities, before they built an extra room on their house, to move to other parts of town. In the same way, the current situation bears out the wisdom of God in the fact that they chose not to move, but to build on, instead.

Prayer. Better than newspapers . . . seek the Lord. He will give an answer. We just need to be sure we are looking in all directions, and not the one whence we most expect the answer to come.

I call to you, God, because I’m sure of an answer. So—answer! bend your ear! listen sharp! 
Paint grace-graffiti on the fences; take in your frightened children who Are running from the neighborhood bullies straight to you.
Psalm 17:6-7 (The Message)

Father, help me to always be looking in the right directions for answers from you. Let me not be boxed in by presuppositions of what I believe your answer should be. Let me always be ready for a surprise. Your face, O God, will I seek!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Better Than Newspapers

Leave a Reply

