The Language of Prayer

Today is Wednesday, February 8, 2017. Five more days until pitchers and catchers report!

Quote of the Day

“I look to the future because that’s where I’m going to spend the rest of my life.” – George Burns

Word of the Day

Troglodyte – a person of degraded, primitive, or brutal character; a prehistoric cave dweller; a person living in seclusion.

Today is Kite Flying Day. And if you didn’t just start humming that Mary Poppins song in your head, you obviously need to stop what you’re doing and go watch that movie!

I made that Cheeseburger Pie for dinner again, last night. We tweaked it a little more, adding diced green chiles to the ground beef and onions, and putting a dollop of sour cream on the top when served. It was delicious! I those two additions made it pretty much perfect!

Have I mentioned that C is going out of town? Not this coming weekend, but the next, she’s going to Vegas to work a bowling tournament. I’m certainly not looking forward to that. Nothing is right when she’s not here with me. We actually thought about figuring out a way for me to go, too, but the logistics were difficult, and she will be working the whole time, so it wouldn’t be like we would get to spend much time together. So it’s a lot cheaper for me to just stay home. She will be leaving on Friday morning and not returning until Monday.

Baseball is most definitely in the air. Rumors are flying that the Rangers have reached a one-year deal, bringing the great and wonderful Mike Napoli back to Texas. Who doesn’t love Mike Napoli?

17/54

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Praise the LORD! Praise, O servants of the LORD, praise the name of the LORD! Psalm 113:1

Prove me, O LORD, and try me; test my heart and my mind. Psalm 26:2

All your works shall give thanks to you, O LORD, and all your saints shall bless you! 
They shall speak of the glory of your kingdom and tell of your power,
Psalm 145:10-11

Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy! 
He who goes out weeping, bearing the seed for sowing, shall come home with shouts of joy, bringing his sheaves with him.
Psalm 126:5-6

Evening and morning and at noon I utter my complaint and moan, and he hears my voice. Psalm 55:17

(From Living the Message)

We have some common misconceptions about prayer. One is that it is “what good people do when they are doing their best.” That is not not true. Another is that there must be some kind of secret language that we have to learn before God will listen to us. There is no such language. The language of prayer could not be more simple, more “elemental.” Prayer “is the means by which our language becomes honest, true, and personal in response to God. It is the means by which we get everything out in the open before God.”

To truly pray, all we have to do is open our hearts and lay it all on the table before God, using whatever language we have available.

When I call, give me answers. God, take my side! Once, in a tight place, you gave me room; Now I’m in trouble again: grace me! hear me! Psalm 4:1 (The Message)

Father, I confess that I have struggled for years over this language of prayer. I still catch myself using phrases that I’ve heard over the years; phrases that are meaningless; phrases that say things that you already know. Help me to be as simple as possible, as honest as possible, as transparent as possible, when I pray to you. You already see everything that is in my heart. Teach me to pray.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

