We Don’t Have To Have the Last Word

Today is Thursday, February 9, 2017. Only four more days until pitchers and catchers report.

Quote of the Day

“I’ve had a perfectly wonderful evening. But this wasn’t it.” – Groucho Marx

Word of the Day

Muckrake – to search for and expose real or alleged corruption, scandal, or the like, especially in politics.

Today is Pizza Day. Why can’t every day be Pizza Day?

Yesterday was birthday cake day at work. On the second Wednesday of every month (except for when they forget), we have birthday cake to celebrate all of the birthdays that occur during the month. Outside the door is a sign that says “Happy Birthday to all the February birthdays!” I don’t understand why we are wishing “Happy Birthday” to the birthdays. I would much rather say it to the people who have the birthdays. Also? That sign is the ultimate laziness. We only have about 30-40 people in our facility. How hard would it be to actually list the ones who have birthdays this month? Couldn’t be more than four or five, you know?

As noted above, pitchers and catchers begin reporting for Spring Training on Monday. I’m excited about baseball starting back up, but it’s bittersweet. No David Ortiz this year. No Big Papi. Baseball will not be the same.

16/53

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

The LORD reigns; let the peoples tremble! He sits enthroned upon the cherubim; let the earth quake! Psalm 99:1

Save us, O LORD our God, and gather us from among the nations, that we may give thanks to your holy name and glory in your praise. Psalm 106:47

Let all the earth fear the LORD; let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him! Psalm 33:8

Thus, when you give to the needy, sound no trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may be praised by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you. Matthew 6:2-4

(From The President’s Devotional)

But the people were silent and answered him not a word, for the king’s command was, “Do not answer him.” 2 Kings 18:36

If you’re not familiar with this story, the king of Assyria was attempting to intimidate Israel, but Hezekiah, their king, had commanded them not to answer Assyria’s king with even one word. They remained silent in the face of his attempts to intimidate and manipulate.

Joshua DuBois writes of an old gospel song that says, “If I hold my peace, and let the Lord fight my battles . . . victory shall be mine!” Hezekiah also knew this to be true and commanded his people to be silent. God would reveal his power.

It is not necessary for us to answer every challenge. There are times when silence speaks louder than words. “God will enter that silence and show himself strong.”

Dallas Willard shares this sentiment when he speaks of a time when he was teaching a class. One student boldly disagreed with something Dallas had said. Instead of answering him, Dallas said that it looked like a good time to end the class for the day. When his refusal to answer the student was questioned, Dallas said, “I’m practicing the discipline of not having the last word.”

We don’t always have to have the last word.

“Dear God, give me judiciousness in response today. Help me discern when to speak and when to hold my peace. In the end, I know that the victory will be yours, and mine. Amen.”

Father, I echo Joshua’s prayer. Help me to know when to speak and when to be silent. Help me to depend on your Spirit for any and all reactions to things and people around me. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth. Show me your power as I depend on you today.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

I said, “I will guard my ways, that I may not sin with my tongue; I will guard my mouth with a muzzle, so long as the wicked are in my presence.” Psalm 39:1

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “We Don’t Have To Have the Last Word

  1. Dear Jeff
    i´m still following your blog , would like to mention it once , that i´m reading every day your blog. Always about 12 o´clock mez i always wait til i get your message on my Smartphone.

    yours Stan , best wishes from Germany my old friend

Leave a Reply

