Storing Up Treasure

Today is Friday, February 10, 2017. Three more days until pitchers and catchers report!

Quote of the Day

“Don’t worry about the world coming to an end today. It’s already tomorrow in Australia.” – Charles M. Schulz

Word of the Day

Whiffler – a person who frequently shifts opinions, attitudes, interests, etc.; a person who is vacillating or evasive in an argument. I suppose, necessarily, there must be a “whiffler’s mother.”

Today is Cream Cheese Brownie Day. Okay. I’m down with that. I just need someone to make some for me.

Did I mention I had a two-hour meeting scheduled for yesterday afternoon? The manager who is over our entire operation (works for our client) scheduled a meeting, inviting a bunch of buyers to our facility for a meeting/tour. The name of the presentation was “How to Avoid the URDN Tool.” URDN stands for Un-Receivable Discrepancy Notice. I oversee the URDNs at our facility. It was nice to put some faces to a lot of the names I see in my job, and I think the meeting went very well.

We also had cake yesterday, because our facility recently hit the three-year mark with no lost-time accidents. That’s a pretty big deal.

The weekend is nigh, and we have no plans for this one, other than church on Sunday. That’s a beautiful thing.

15/52

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Exalt the LORD our God, and worship at his holy mountain; for the LORD our God is holy! Psalm 99:9

Be pleased, O LORD, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me! Psalm 40″13

But you, O GOD my Lord, deal on my behalf for your name’s sake; because your steadfast love is good, deliver me! 
For I am poor and needy, and my heart is stricken within me.
Psalm 109:21-22

The LORD is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love. Psalm 103:8

The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. 
He fulfills the desire of those who fear him; he also hears their cry and saves them. 
  The LORD preserves all who love him, but all the wicked he will destroy. 
  My mouth will speak the praise of the LORD, and let all flesh bless his holy name forever and ever.
Psalm 145:18-21

Better is a little with the fear of the LORD than great treasure and trouble with it. Proverbs 15:16

I’ve got a lot of stuff in my house. The majority of it is books, records, CDs, and video games. The majority of that group is books. There is no shelf space left in our house, nor is there any place left to put a shelf. Why? “I might read those books someday!” Which is, of course, ridiculous. I’ll never live long enough to read all of these books. So why do I keep accumulating them? This is a question my wife would love for me to answer. Sadly, I cannot, other than I truly do believe that I will get around to reading them, someday. I wouldn’t buy a book if I didn’t think I was actually going to read it.

What’s the point of all this? Accumulating “treasure” is pointless in this life. I’ve accepted that, and my acquiring of new books has slowed down significantly. I am much less attached to my stuff than I used to be. I haven’t felt the strong need to get a new musical instrument in years. Mind you, I still haven’t quite worked up the nerve to get rid of a lot of it.

Do we fear the Lord in this house? I would like to think that we do. Perhaps not as much as we should, but we worship him and we love him. We still have a long way to go, but we have recognized the truth of Proverbs 15:16. For the most part, we have stopped building up “treasure.” Now, if only we can start getting rid of some of it.

Father, thank you for teaching me the futility of storing up treasures on earth. I pray that you will keep teaching me this, and eventually teach me how to let go of much of it and simplify things. I want to walk wholly in your kingdom. I want to cling to you only, like my very life depends upon it, because it truly does! Teach me to walk in the easy yoke of Christ.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

