Explore the Country of Salvation

Today is Saturday, February 11, 2017. Two more days until pitchers and catchers report!

Quote of the Day

“The prime purpose of eloquence is to keep other people from talking.” – Louis Vermeil

Word of the Day

Noblesse oblige – the moral obligation of those of high birth, powerful social position, etc., to act with honor, kindliness, generosity, etc.

Today is Get Out Your Guitar Day. Technically, mine is always “out,” because it hangs on the wall. So I can adapt, slightly, and make this “Get Down Your Guitar Day.” I got it down last Saturday, for Night of Worship. I think I’ll get it down again today, and just play a while, to get the fingers back in shape.

We have nothing planned for today. It’s a beautiful thing. We may or may not leave the house. It’s all up to our whimsies.

Tomorrow, R & J are coming over for lunch. That will be fun.

That’s all I’ve got today.

14/51 Two weeks!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness. Psalm 29:2

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. Psalm 63:1

O God, we have heard with our ears, our fathers have told us, what deeds you performed in their days, in the days of old: Psalm 44:1

Rescue the weak and the needy; deliver them from the hand of the wicked. Psalm 82:4

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven. For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.” Matthew 5:43-45

(From Living the Message)

“What God has done for us far exceeds anything we have done for or against him. The summary word for this excessive, undeserved, unexpected act of God is salvation. Prayer explores the country of salvation, tramping the contours, smelling the flowers, touching the outcroppings. There is more to do than recognize the sheer fact of salvation and witness to it; there are unnumbered details of grace, of mercy, of blessing to be appreciated and savored. Prayer is the means by which we do this.” (Eugene H. Peterson)

As high as heaven is over the earth, so strong is his love to those who fear him. 
  And as far as sunrise is from sunset, he has separated us from our sins.
Psalm 103:11-12 (The Message)

Father, as I continue to learn to pray, teach me to explore this “country of salvation.” Help me see the “unnumbered details of grace, of mercy, of blessing” that surround me every single day. It doesn’t matter what negative things I see each day, because there are an infinite number more things that speak, nay, SHOUT of the grace and mercy that you have lavished upon all people, even those who deny your existence! As your word says, you make rain to fall on both the just and the unjust. I pray that all people would recognize your grace and mercy and worship you. But I especially pray that you would open my eyes to see all of your glory. Teach me to pray; teach me to see; teach me to hear . . . you.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

