He Loved Us, First

Today is Tuesday, February 14, 2017. Happy Valentine’s Day.

Quote of the Day

“Love is that condition in which the happiness of another person is essential to your own.” ― Robert A. Heinlein, Stranger in a Strange Land

Word of the Day

Spoony – foolishly or sentimentally amorous.

Today is International Book Giving Day. Originally founded in the UK, this day is all about sharing books with children, especially those who have no easy access to them. C would love it if I would participate in this day. Although I don’t know how many books I have that would be appropriate for children.

Yesterday was a strange day. As the day progress, I found myself inching into depression over some things I don’t feel free to write about here. I texted back and forth with C for a while, which helped, then talked to my mother about it on the way home from work. I skipped band practice. In modern day terms, I had a bad case of “I can’t even . . .”

Hopefully, today will be better. I will make note of one thing that frustrated me a bit. Yesterday morning, I was seeing some Facebook posts about the situation in California with the dam that they were afraid would fail. The top five “news” stories on Yahoo? Grammy awards. It’s hard to be aggravated at Yahoo. They’re just “giving the people what they want.” I haven’t watched the Grammys (or any other industry award show, for that matter) in years. I’m tired of seeing the industry pat itself on the back.

11/48

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Praise the LORD! Praise the name of the LORD, give praise, O servants of the LORD.
Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; sing to his name, for it is pleasant!
For I know that the LORD is great, and that our Lord is above all gods.
Psalm 135:1, 3, 5

Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:14

Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty, God shines forth.
The heavens declare his righteousness, for God himself is judge! Selah.
Psalm 50:2, 6

Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn! Psalm 108:2

(From The President’s Devotional)

In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 1 John 4:9-11

“Father in Heaven! You have loved us first, help us never to forget that You are love so that this sure conviction might triumph in our hearts over the seduction of the world, over the inquietude of the soul, over the anxiety for the future, over the fright of the past, over the distress of the moment. But grant also that this conviction might discipline our souls so that our hearts might remain faithful and sincere in the love which we bear to all those whom You have commanded us to love as we love ourselves.” – Soren Kierkegaard, The Prayers of Kierkegaard

“Father, you loved us first. Help us never forget it. And let us bear your love to all whom you have commanded. Amen.” – Joshua DuBois

I echo these two men’s prayers, Father. It is amazing, the love that you have lavished upon us, your children, your people. “Love so amazing, so divine, demands my soul, my life, my all!” How can I live up to this love? I cannot. I can only allow your Spirit to reign in me, and spread the love of Jesus around me, wherever I am. So, today, help me to be aware; help me to look around; help me to see where love needs to be spread. Take my pettiness, my judgmentalness, and dash them on the rocks, shattering them to pieces. I would that you would remove any such possibilities, even, from my very being. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Let me walk in your Kingdom, in the easy yoke of Jesus.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

