Simply Rejoice

Today is Friday, February 17, 2017. 8 days until Spring Training games begin.

Quote of the Day

“A smile is the universal welcome.” – Max Eastman

Word of the Day

Oscitant – drowsy or inattentive.

Today is Random Acts of Kindness Day. I think you know what to do.

Well, C is getting ready to go catch an airplane to Las Vegas. Turns out it’s chilly in Vegas, right now. It’s a good thing I checked the weather. The highs for the weekend barely crack sixty degrees! Plus it’s raining today and tomorrow. But she said they hardly ever leave the hotel during the weekend, as the bowling center is actually in the hotel. She will be gone until sometime Monday.

Mike Napoli is officially back with the Texas Rangers!! In the meantime, Mitch Moreland went to be on the Red Sox. That’s kind of old news, but also kind of ironic. But Napoli is a fan favorite, and there must be something to his value to a team, because he has been to three World Series championships, each one with a different team. He won a World Series ring with the Red Sox in 2013. We will once again, hopefully, hear the chants of “NAPOLI! NAPOLI! NAPOLI!” coming from the grandstands of Rangers Ballpark.

I’ve ordered Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas for the X-box 360. It has been suggested by multiple people that I should play these, but I was thinking in terms of PS3, which I don’t have. I was looking at the possibility of getting them for the PC, but was concerned that Fallout 3 might not work on Windows 10, being that it was originally created for Vista. Yes, it’s that old. But while shopping on Amazon, I saw that it was available for X-box 360, which we do have! Duh! Both games are supposed to arrive tomorrow.

45 days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

But I call to God, and the LORD will save me.
God will give ear . . . he who is enthroned from of old, Selah.
Psalm 55:16, 19

Our God comes; he does not keep silence; before him is a devouring fire, around him a mighty tempest. Psalm 50:3

For your name’s sake, O LORD, pardon my guilt, for it is great. Psalm 25:11

Help me, O LORD my God! Save me according to your steadfast love! Psalm 109:26

(From Daily Guideposts 2017)

In today’s reading, Lisa Bogart writes about moving from California back to New York. She is shoveling snow for the first time in years. At first, it’s new and, perhaps, even fun. But she knows that, as winter wears on, she will tire of this ceaseless, daily activity, and will grow weary of scraping off her car every day, and having to bundle up just to go get groceries.

But she reminds herself, on that first day, to “hang on to the fun parts of the season: the quiet of the first snowfall, the delicate patterns of ice crystals, the blanket of white that covers the backyard and dresses the trees, the cozy feeling of being safe inside.”

Is this not like our life of faith? At first, everything is wonderful and new. We feel a peace that we’ve never known, and we want to hang on to that feeling for life. It’s a new life. But, as we all know, these feelings wear off over time. How do we recapture that “first love?” How do we get back to wonder? How do we maintain the joy of shoveling?

We must remind ourselves. Lisa puts up sticky notes, on the bathroom mirror: “Pray today.” She pauses during the morning devotion to soak it in. How often do we pause like this? Simple things, little things, that will help us rejoice in our “faith-filled” lives.

“Dear Father, thank You for the change of season. Remind me of the good things about winter. Amen.”~~Lisa Bogart

yet I will rejoice in the LORD; I will take joy in the God of my salvation. Habakkuk 3:18

Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Philippians 4:4

Father, you have drawn me in to this life. I pray that your Spirit will help me to keep it fresh every day. Remind me of the words in Lamentations 3: But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. Help me to simply rejoice today and every day.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

