You Call Us Friend

Today is Saturday, February 18, 2017. Two more days until C comes home.

Quote of the Day

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.” – George Eliot

Word of the Day

Craquelure – a network of fine cracks or crackles on the surface of a painting, caused chiefly by shrinkage of paint film or varnish.

Today is one of those days that you wait for all year. It’s Eat Ice Cream For Breakfast Day! Of course, it’s not like you couldn’t do that any other day, but today it’s perfectly okay, and even expected! So celebrate away!

C’s trip to Vegas didn’t exactly begin on a great note. As I was just about to walk out the door, I got a call from her, and she said, “Guess what just happened to me!” Me, being the kind of person I am, immediately began envisioning crumpled car all over the road, but, hey, at least she was talking to me and didn’t sound like she was in pain. Turns out she had hit a pot-hole (or at least some kind of irregularity in the pavement) while exiting to the airport remote parking area, and now had a flat tire. She did manage to get parked, though. So we have a problem to deal with when she gets back on Monday. In order to make things a little easier, I’m taking Monday off so I can go get her and then we can decide what to do. Oh. Let me explain. Apparently, cars don’t come with spare tires any more. We can get a “tire kit” for $299. We’ll probably either have AAA tow it to a nearby tire shop or have Hyundai Roadside Assistance tow it to a dealership to get fixed.

This morning, I’ll be heading to Grapevine, as soon as I finish this blog, to get maintenance done on my RX350. It turns out I get four free maintenance visits! I have an appointment there at 9:30. They offered a loaner, but I said I would wait. It is generally a couple hours, because they wash it, too, but I don’t really want to drive home and then come back later. I don’t have a lot that needs to get done today.

Only a week until they begin playing Spring Training games!
44 days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Let them thank the LORD for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of man! 
For he satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things.
Psalm 107:8-9

Give ear to my words, O LORD; consider my groaning. Psalm 5:1

Out of the mouth of babies and infants, you have established strength because of your foes, to still the enemy and the avenger. Psalm 8:2

I am small and despised, yet I do not forget your precepts. Psalm 119:141

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. 
Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. 
  Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit. 
  Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will return to you.
Psalm 51:10-13

(From The President’s Devotional)

What is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him? 
Yet you have made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honor.
Psalm 8:4-5

“You call us friend.
The God of the universe calls us friend.
Who are we that you are mindful of us, oh God?
Mere mortals, that you would spend time with us this day?
But you do; you’re present; you’re here. You’ve crowned us with the honor of your presence right now. We return that honor to you in the form of our obedience, and all our love.
Amen.” (Joshua DuBois)

Father, I have long struggled with this, that you would think so highly of us to do the things that you do for us. Help me to see, not so much my value, as I have no intrinsic value, but the way you love me. Help me to see, to grasp, to comprehend the love that you have for me, for us, for all of humanity. I truly believe that if each person on this planet could honestly believe and understand how much you love each one of us, all of our problems would be quickly solved.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

