Wide-Eyed Wonder

Today is Sunday, February 19, 2017. One more day until C comes home.

Quote of the Day

“Beware of all enterprises that require new clothes.” – Henry David Thoreau

Word of the Day

Fress – to eat or snack, especially often or in large quantities. If you fress when you’re stressed, that would be “stress-fressing.”

Today is Chocolate Mint Day. Oh, yeah! And I just happen to have an unopened bag of York Peppermint Patties in the house!

I’m not sure what kind of day C had yesterday, as we didn’t talk. I do know that they didn’t start bowling until 6:00 PM (it was 8:00 here). She texted me her first two scores, 113 and 127. I don’t know what her third game was. I had gone to sleep by that time. I believe she said they bowl six games today. When I talked to her yesterday morning, she was having some pretty serious pains in joints. The place is really big, so there’s a lot of walking. But it looks like she was able to bowl okay. As mentioned before, she will be home between 1:00 and 2:00 PM tomorrow.

Not much else going on this morning. I’m getting ready for our worship gathering, with The Exchange Church, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach St., in Fort Worth, TX.

Six days until the Spring Training Games.
43 days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! Psalm 100:4

Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:14

I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; I will recount all of your wonderful deeds. 
I will be glad and exult in you; I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.
Psalm 9:1-2

In God, whose word I praise, in the LORD, whose word I praise, 
in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can man do to me?
Psalm 56:10-11

Praise the LORD! Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise in the assembly of the godly! 
Let Israel be glad in his Maker; let the children of Zion rejoice in their King! 
Let them praise his name with dancing, making melody to him with tambourine and lyre! 
For the LORD takes pleasure in his people; he adorns the humble with salvation. 
Let the godly exult in glory; let them sing for joy on their beds.
Psalm 149:1-5

“O Lord, you have taught us that without love whatever we do is worth nothing: Send your Holy Spirit and pour into my heart your greatest gift, which is love, the true bond of peace and of all virtue, without which whoever lives is accounted dead before you. Grant this for the sake of your only Son Jesus Christ, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.” (The Divine Hours)

(From The President’s Devotional)

“We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.” (T.S. Eliot, Four Quarters)

At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; yes, Father, for such was your gracious will. Matthew 11:25-26

“God must get a kick out of children,” begins today’s reading by Joshua DuBois. They know the secret to laughter. They will laugh at anything–a silly face, a knock-knock joke, and, perhaps, most especially, being tossed into the air by a trusted grown-up.

They know the secret to love. They will run into their classroom and hug everyone. Everyone is their friend, real and imaginary. That is, before we heap layers of prejudice upon them.

They are unashamedly bold, being more than happy to wear costumes and capes, pretending to be their favorite superhero, always defeating the villain. (Wait. I just described a Comic Con!)

As time goes by, we get older, and we forget these things. (Except for people who love Comic Cons!) “We grow judicious, cynical, and perhaps a bit afraid.” Let us pray today that we would “relearn the lessons we knew so long ago: how to laugh purely, act boldly, love innocently.” Is it possible to combine the wisdom that comes from growing older with the lessons of childhood? Can we truly “arrive where we started and know the place for the first time?”

“Dear God, as I appreciate the children around me, let me learn from them. Place within me their wonder and joy, and plant their laughter deep inside my soul. Amen.”

Father, in just a little while, I will be in a place where there will be children. Help me to look at them and learn from them. I was a child once, but it was so long ago . . . I confess that I grew cynical and sarcastic. Help me to repent of that cynicism that sees the world through lenses that know the cost of everything but the value of nothing. Help me to recapture the ability to look at the world through “wide-eyed wonder.”

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Wide-Eyed Wonder

Leave a Reply

