Jars of Clay

Today is Thursday, February 23, 2017. Two more days until Spring Training games begin!

Quote of the Day

“They say a person needs just three things to be truly happy in this world: someone to love, something to do, and something to hope for.” ― Tom Bodett

Word of the Day

Misogynous – Of or characterized by a hatred of women.

Today is Chili Day. I just learned something, too. The web site that I get most of these from is British, and it turns out that the British spell “chili,” “chilli.” That’s right. It has an extra L. I thought it was a typo, but I consulted the ubiquitous Interwebs, and they told me that in British English, it’s spelled “chilli.” So there you go. No extra charge for that. Anyway . . . I love chili, any time of year. I will eat it in any month, no matter how hot it is outside. My only stipulation is that it does NOT have beans. The only chili that I have ever liked with beans in it was our pastor’s mother’s special chili. It tastes so good that it’s okay that she puts beans in it.

C seems to be feeling better, as reported when she got home from work last night. She said her legs were better. Hopefully, that improvement will continue. The next thing I will be counting down to will be our weekend in Glen Rose, which comes up in just over two weeks. I think that will be a good time for both of us, as we typically do pretty much nothing for four days. Nothing except sit on the front porch or in the hot tub, relaxing and reading. Or napping.

Nothing else going on, really. Unfortunately, we have already started our Mexican Soup in the crock pot, before I saw that today is Chili Day, so dinner tonight will not be chili. That’s okay, though. This soup is always delicious. And we have added a couple of new things to it, so we will see how that turns out.

39 days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

But we will bless the LORD from this time forth and forevermore. Praise the LORD! Psalm 115:18

Turn to me and be gracious to me; give your strength to your servant, and save the son of your maidservant. Psalm 86:16

You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with shouts of deliverance. Selah. Psalm 32:7

Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life. Psalm 54:4

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 
  He was in the beginning with God. 
All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. 
In him was life, and the life was the light of men. 
  The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.
John 1:1-5

(From The President’s Devotional)

But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. 
  We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; 
persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; 
  always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies.
2 Corinthians 4:7-10

Joshua DuBois, in an effort to help us reflect on this treasure that we carry in our “jars of clay,” writes a parable of sorts. Imagine that you are walking on the street and a stranger taps you on the shoulder. He extends his hand, and as you tentatively reach out, he places a perfectly formed diamond in your hand. After being tested for authenticity, it turns out to be a priceless treasure.

“We walk around with such treasure, today and every day.” In these “jars of clay,” we carry the Spirit of God, eternal life, “given freely to us through faith in Jesus Christ.” May we cultivate that Spirit, listening to his voice as he speaks to us every day, and may we obey his promptings as he guides us through life.

“Dear Father, thank you for the gift of your salvation. I will never take it for granted; I will marvel at it all my days. Amen.” (Joshua DuBois)

Father, may I, too, marvel at this precious gift every day. When things don’t go the way I think they should, help me to stop and reflect on what I carry around in this flesh, your Holy Spirit! May I listen to him as he guides me every day.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

