Talk Slowly

Today is Wednesday, March 1, 2017. Nine days until our Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Johnson

Word of the Day

Malfeasance ~ the performance by a public official of an act that is legally unjustified, harmful, or contrary to law; wrongdoing (used especially of an act in violation of a public trust).

Today is World Compliment Day. Say some nice words to someone today. Or give them free breakfast.

It’s Hump Day, in a week that will culminate in our monthly Night of Worship, this Saturday evening. These are turning out to be very sweet times of worship and prayer, with a much more intimate setting than the normal worship gathering. It’s at 6:00 PM Saturday.

Not much else going on, around here. We made the Instant Pot Mac & Cheese again, last night. When I realized that our cream cheese had gotten a bit moldy, I tossed it, and we decided to just add more shredded cheese to the mix. C and I both liked it better that way, so from now on, we will alter the recipe by skipping the cream cheese and adding more regular cheese. Good times. We add tuna to ours when it’s done, to make a meal out of it.

33 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Love the LORD, all you his saints! The LORD preserves the faithful but abundantly repays the one who acts in pride.
Psalm 31:23
To you, O LORD, I call; my rock, be not deaf to me, lest, if you be silent to me, I become like those who go down to the pit.
Psalm 28:1
Your way, O God, is holy. What god is great like our God?
Psalm 77:13
Oh, guard my soul, and deliver me! Let me not be put to shame, for I take refuge in you.
Psalm 25:20
Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me, for in you my soul takes refuge; in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge, till the storms of destruction pass by. 
I cry out to God Most High, to God who fulfills his purpose for me. 
He will send from heaven and save me; he will put to shame him who tramples on me. Selah. God will send out his steadfast love and his faithfulness!

Psalm 57:1-3

(From The President’s Devotional)

The heart of the righteous ponders how to answer, but the mouth of the wicked pours out evil things.
Proverbs 15:28

“Talk low, talk slow, and don’t say too much” ~ John Wayne

Joshua DuBois writes of interactions with his grandfather. When Joshua was a child, it always seemed like his grandfather took too long to answer questions. He spoke very slowly. “It seemed that by the time he answered my first question, I had five more ready.”

Finally, one day, Joshua asked his grandfather, “Why do you talk so slow?” His answer, which helps bring Proverbs 15:28 home: “I speak slowly because I don’t want my mouth to run laps around my brain. I’d rather let my brain finish first.”

Good advice for all of us, I think. “A problem never went unsolved, or dispute unresolved, because of an answer delivered too slowly.” May we all “ponder how to answer” before we speak.

“Dear God, pace me. Let me not move in front of your wisdom, and let my language reflect study and care. Amen.” ~ Joshua Dubois

Father, my tongue has been famous for getting me in trouble, for all of my life. I pray for the wisdom to stop and think before I speak, to answer slowly, not quickly, and, in the words of John Wayne, “don’t say too much.” Let the words of my mouth be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

