Send Out Your Light

Today is Sunday, March 5, 2017. A “prime” day, if you will. 3/5/2017. Only five more days until our Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“It’s a dangerous business going out your front door.” ~ J. R. R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Word of the Day

Salaam ~ a salutation meaning “peace,” used especially in Islamic countries.

Today is Namesake Day. Are you named after someone? I don’t know that my first name came from any of my ancestors, but I share a middle name with my grandfather and uncle. There used to be a lot more significance attached to names, even special meanings sought out. And if you know the story of John the Baptizer, you know that when he was born, when his father said he was to be named “John,” there was a bit of an uproar, as none of their relatives or ancestors had that name. Perhaps you know the person you were named after. Perhaps you can even contact them and celebrate the day with them.

Last night was another amazing Night of Worship. It built in intensity all the way up to the last song. There was actually supposed to be another song, but Brandon and I looked at each other and I said, “I think we’re done.” To do the last song on the set list, I think, would have been somewhat anti-climactic. In fact, after we finished the last song we sang, there were several moments of nothing, pure silence, as we basked in the presence of the Lord. No one could speak. It was pretty incredible.

This morning, we are getting ready for our worship gathering with The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach Street, in Fort Worth, TX. We start our gathering at 10:15 AM.

After that, C and I will have to do our grocery shopping, and then chill for the rest of the day, hopefully.

Also, apparently Daylight Saving Time (BOOOO!!!) begins again next Saturday night. So, we are losing a whole hour of our Glen Rose weekend!!! No fair, man. No fair!

Only 29 more days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Ascribe to the LORD, O families of the peoples, ascribe to the LORD glory and strength! 
Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; bring an offering, and come into his courts! 
Worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness; tremble before him, all the earth!

Psalm 96:7-9
Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling! 
Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God.

Psalm 43:3-4
As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. 
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?

Psalm 42:1-2
For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God?
Psalm 18:31

“O God, who before the passion of your only-begotten Son revealed his glory upon the holy mountain: Grant that I, beholding by faith the light of his countenance, may be strengthened to bear my cross, and be changed into his likeness from glory to glory; through Jesus Christ my Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.” (The Divine Hours)

Father, this morning, as we head to our worship gathering, and participate in the set-up of all the accouterments of worship, I pray that you will, indeed, “send out your light and your truth; let them the lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!” Let us attend your altar, O God, and let us have exceeding joy as we lift up your name, this morning.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

