A Loud Song I Sing!

Today is Thursday, March 9, 2017. One day and eighteen hours until our Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“Instead of giving a politician the keys to the city, it might be better to change the locks.” ~ Doug Larson

Word of the Day

Newspeak ~ an official or semiofficial style of writing or saying one thing in the guise of its opposite, especially in order to serve a political or ideological cause while pretending to be objective, as in referring to “increased taxation” as “revenue enhancement.” Coined by George Orwell in 1984.

Today is Panic Day. For one day, disregard Douglas Adams’s advice. Go ahead and panic.

As is usual on Thursdays, there’s not much going on around here. The only “news” that I know is that the Cowboys are reportedly releasing Tony Romo today. I don’t think anyone is surprised.

It is the day for my monthly meeting at work, but it’s only a thirty-minute meeting, so it shouldn’t be bad. Half the time they don’t even last that long.

Only twenty-five days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Awake, my glory! Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn!
Psalm 57:8
Restore us, O God of hosts; let your face shine, that we may be saved!
Psalm 80:7
My lips will shout for joy, when I sing praises to you; my soul also, which you have redeemed.
Psalm 71:23
Summon your power, O God, the power, O God, by which you have worked for us.
Psalm 68:28

(From Living the Message)

“There are songs everywhere in scripture. The people of God sing. They express exuberance in realizing the majesty of God and the mercy of Christ, the wholeness of reality and their new-found ability to participate in it. Songs proliferate. Hymns gather the voices of men, women, and children into century-tiered choirs. Moses sings. Miriam sings. Deborah sings. David sings. Mary sings. Angels sing. Jesus and his disciples sing. Paul and Silas sing. When persons of faith become aware of who God is and what he does, they sing. The songs are irrepressible.”

Then I heard every creature in Heaven and earth, in underworld and sea, join in, all voices in all places, singing:
“To the One on the Throne! To the Lamb!
The blessing, the honor, the glory, the strength,
For age after age after age.”

Father, I need to sing more. Open my heart and open my lips that I might sing praises to you! Even give me new songs to sing to you!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

