Collecting Sinners

Today is FRIDAY, March 10, 2017. Seventeen hours until our Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“Money can’t buy happiness, but it can make you awfully comfortable while you’re being miserable.” ― Clare Boothe Luce

Word of the Day

Stravage ~ to wander aimlessly. Pronounced “struh-veyg.”

Today is Day of Awesomeness. Everybody be awesome today, okay?

Not much to talk about today, other than it’s Friday, and we’re leaving for Glen Rose tomorrow. But I’ve mentioned that every day this week, so you’re probably tired of that.

The weather for the weekend is shaping up to be very nice. The projected highs are: Saturday-75, Sunday-54, Monday-66, and Tuesday-72. The lows for each night are in the mid-forties. Sounds like an awesome spring weekend.

Twenty-four more days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh sing to the LORD a new song, for he has done marvelous things! His right hand and his holy arm have worked salvation for him.
Psalm 98:1
Let your steadfast love comfort me according to your promise to your servant. 
Let your mercy come to me, that I may live; for your law is my delight.

Psalm 119:76-77
I will give thanks to you, O LORD, among the peoples; I will sing praises to you among the nations. 
For your steadfast love is great above the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.

Psalm 108:3-4
So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.
Psalm 90:12

(From Living the Message)

“When Christian believers gather in churches, everything that can go wrong sooner or later does. Outsiders, on observing this, conclude that there is nothing to the religion business except, perhaps, business–and dishonest business at that. Insiders see it differently. Just as a hospital collects the sick under one roof and labels them as such, the church collects sinners. Many of the people outside the hospital are every bit as sick as the ones inside, but their illnesses are either undiagnosed or disguised. It’s similar with sinners outside the church.”

I think that another thing that contributes to this is that, for far too long, some churches have been presenting themselves as above the world. This is simply not true. We are in the world. We live in the world. We cannot escape it, until one of two things happens. Either we die or Jesus comes again. Until that day, we live in the world, and while we are to do our best to be “in the world and not of it,” we are still born of flesh and we still inhabit flesh. Because of that, we are going to make mistakes. Somehow, we need to make the “outsiders” see that we don’t think we are perfect at all. We simply have the remedy for sin and life.

If we claim that we’re free of sin, we’re only fooling ourselves. A claim like that is errant nonsense. On the other hand, if we admit our sins—make a clean breast of them—he won’t let us down; he’ll be true to himself. He’ll forgive our sins and purge us of all wrongdoing.
1 John 1:8-9 (The Message)

Father, when I begin to think that I am better than anyone else, knock me down. Remind me that, if anything, I’m worse. I am, like Paul, “chief of sinners.” Oh, the places I would go and the things that I would do if you were not my Father and Jesus not my Savior. I shudder to think. Remind me, Father, not so that I will feel shame at the inclination to evil within my flesh, but that I will feel thankfulness to Jesus for saving me from that inclination.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

