Our Protector

Today is Saturday, March 11, 2017. Today is the day!!

Quote of the Day

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.” ~ Douglas Adams, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul. I can certainly identify with that one. Or at least I’m well on the way to where I need to be. I’m relatively certain I have not arrived, yet.

Word of the Day

Canard ~ a false or baseless, usually derogatory story, report, or rumor.

Today is Genealogy Day. The celebration of this day was begun in 2013 Christ Church, United Presbyterian and Methodist in Limerick, Ireland. But people have been interested in tracing their family history for much longer than that. My father was interested in that for many years. Today, there is a renewed interest in genealogy, sparked by the proliferation of DNA tests that are on the market.

Today is the day! We will be leaving for Glen Rose in a few hours for a four-day weekend. I started feeling more relaxed on the way home from work, yesterday, just thinking about it. We stay at the Paluxy River Bed Cabins, on the road to the Dinosaur State Park. We used to stay at the Cedar House every time, but as we got older, the stairs became tiresome. So now we stay at the Cliff House, which has a great view of the Paluxy River and areas beyond. All four of the houses have a full-sized hot tub on the spacious front deck. We’ll be spending a lot of time in there.

Twenty-three more days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Bless the LORD, O you his angels, you mighty ones who do his word, obeying the voice of his word! 
Bless the LORD, all his hosts, his ministers, who do his will! 
Bless the LORD, all his works, in all places of his dominion. Bless the LORD, O my soul!

Psalm 103:20-22
Give ear to my words, O LORD; consider my groaning. 
Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you do I pray. 
O LORD, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch.

Psalm 5:1-3
Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.
Psalm 19:14
The counsel of the LORD stands forever, the plans of his heart to all generations.
Psalm 33:11
O LORD, who shall sojourn in your tent? Who shall dwell on your holy hill? 
He who walks blamelessly and does what is right and speaks truth in his heart; 
who does not slander with his tongue and does no evil to his neighbor, nor takes up a reproach against his friend; 
in whose eyes a vile person is despised, but who honors those who fear the LORD; who swears to his own hurt and does not change; 
who does not put out his money at interest and does not take a bribe against the innocent. He who does these things shall never be moved.

Psalm 15

(From The President’s Devotional)

Jezebel was so intent on killing Elijah that she said these words: “So may the gods do to me and more also, if I do not make your life as the life of one of them by this time tomorrow.” (1 Kings 19:2)

However, as we know, forty days later, Elijah was still standing. And he arose and ate and drank, and went in the strength of that food forty days and forty nights to Horeb, the mount of God. (1 Kings 19:8)

God is our protector. How many times in our lives have our “enemy’s declarations” failed to come to fruition? “Let’s consider how the plots against us, the pessimism about us, have not come to pass.”

Just over 32 years ago, my wife’s ex-boyfriend, in a fit of rage, declared that we would never last. I think there were some other words in there, too. In a previous job, I had both a site manager and direct manager who were convinced that I needed to be off of their payroll. I proved them wrong. That direct manager and I become good friends, and she later declared me to be her favorite employee. The only reason I lost that job was because they closed the facility and we all got laid off.

To be fair, there are people who do experience difficulties and trials from situations not of their own making. Is God still their protector? Yes! Absolutely! As Amy Grant once sang in a song about angels, we may never see all of the difficulties that God protected us from. And, as one of my “life statements” says, “It could always be worse.”

God has been faithful, and will always be faithful.

“Dear Lord, thank you for your consistent protection. I have not had the easiest days, but I am still standing. And I know it’s because of you. Amen.” (Joshua DuBois)

Father, we have experienced some hard days, and you pulled us through them. There were moments when I was tempted to declare that you had abandoned us. But you did not. And you never will. I praise you and worship you because you have always been there by my side, walking beside me, in front of me, behind me, and your Spirit has been within me. Now, lead me on to where I need to be. Draw me further in. And protect me as I go.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

