Creation: The Place to Meet God

“The voice that spoke Behemoth and Leviathan into being is the same voice that says, ‘your sins are forgiven you,’ and invites us to call upon him in the day of trouble.”

Today is Wednesday, March 15, 2017. Et tu, Brute?

Quote of the Day

“How much easier it is to be critical than to be correct.” ~ Benjamin Disraeli, Speech at the House of Commons, January 24, 1860

Word of the Day

Cimmerian ~ very dark, gloomy.

Today is Brutus Day, because back-stabbing and betrayal are alive and well.

Back to the old routine, today. But at least we only have to work three days until the next weekend. I like that. Four-day-weekend, three-day-week.

As hinted at above, today is known as The Ides of March, the date that Julius Caesar was allegedly stabbed in the back by his “friend,” Brutus.

The extended weekend was just about perfect. Even though the skies were cloudy on Saturday and Sunday, our place was still beautiful and relaxing. We spent hours either sitting in the hot tub or on the front porch, and when it got too chilly, we sat in the chairs in the cabin, looking out the windows. I finished three books on the trip. We also found that there is a new Mexican restaurant in Glen Rose, called Casa Azteca. What a pleasant surprise! When we first drove into town, we couldn’t tell what it was, as we didn’t see the small sign. We could tell it was a new building, and there was an “Open” sign, but that was it. When we drove back in for a late lunch on Sunday afternoon, we saw the sign “Casa Azteca.” We had our late lunch there, which was wonderful. The chips and salsa were delicious, and the food was scrumptious! The waitstaff was friendly and professional. We liked it so much that we went back for dinner on Monday. This time, it was packed with people! The service was a little slow, but with the crowd they had, that was understandable. The food was still great, and we tried the table-side guacamole, which was also quite good. We are thinking about a Saturday trip, maybe next month, just to have lunch there. Oh, and to get a piece of pie at the Pie Peddlers, of course.

Only nineteen more days until Opening Day!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Bless our God, O peoples; let the sound of his praise be heard, 
who has kept our soul among the living and has not let our feet slip.

Psalm 66:8-9
But I am poor and needy; hasten to me, O God! You are my help and my deliverer; O LORD, do not delay!
Psalm 70:5
For you, O Lord, are my hope, my trust, O LORD, from my youth. 
Upon you I have leaned from before my birth; you are he who took me from my mother’s womb. My praise is continually of you.

Psalm 71:5-6
“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”
Psalm 46:11

(From Living the Message)

In today’s reading, called “Nothing Merely Happened Along,” Eugene H. Peterson expresses the beauty of creation and our relationship to God within that creation. “Everything carries within its form and texture the signature of its Creator.” There is no part of our world that is not connected with God. And our lives cannot be lived apart from that.

“None of it is an inconvenience that we are forced to put up with. Nothing is a stumbling block introduced by the devil to trip the feet of those whose eyes are piously lifted in praise to God. Creation is our place for meeting God and conversing with him. The voice that spoke Behemoth and Leviathan into being is the same voice that says, ‘your sins are forgiven you,’ and invites us to call upon him in the day of trouble.”

Such beautiful words and beautiful truth. It will be lovely to ponder this on my drive to work, this morning.

What a wildly wonderful world, GOD! You made it all, with Wisdom at your side, made earth overflow with your wonderful creations.
Psalm 104:24 (The Message)

Father, as I drive to work, this morning, allow me to notice creation, and to realize that, everywhere I am, I am interacting with you through your creation. I praise you, Father, for the wonders of your creation, and how they draw me to you in prayer, devotion, and meditation. Keep me thinking of this, even when I am cooped up in a building, doing my daily work.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

