Send Out Your Light and Your Truth

Today is Thursday, March 16, 2017. Eighteen days until Opening Day!

Quote of the Day

“The test for whether or not you can hold a job should not be the arrangement of your chromosomes.” ~ Bella Abzug

Word of the Day

Code-switching ~ the modifying of one’s behavior, appearance, etc., to adapt to different sociocultural norms.

Today is No Selfies Day. As one who rarely takes a “selfie,” that won’t be an issue for me. I know of some people for whom this will be next to impossible. Still I issue the challenge. Try to go a day without taking a selfie. In truth, this whole phenomenon is indicative of a much bigger issue. There is something psychologically errant in this obsession with taking pictures of one’s own face, over and over and over again.

Tonight we have our Night of Worship team gathering. This consists of six or eight people (I can’t ever remember how many) who have agreed to be in a team that will oversee our monthly Night of Worship, contributing ideas, praying for it, and so on. The owner of our host home has been preparing ribs and chicken for us, for dinner tonight. Yum! We will be contributing a pie from Pie Peddlers. Good times!

Not much else to report, so on to the important stuff.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

I may not have mentioned it before, but this first group of Psalms that I always post comes from The Divine Hours, a daily listing of prayers compiled by Phyllis Tickle, available in several volumes, divided by seasons.

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.
Psalm 51:15
Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!
Psalm 43:3
O LORD God of hosts, who is mighty as you are, O LORD, with your faithfulness all around you?
Righteousness and justice are the foundation of your throne; steadfast love and faithfulness go before you.

Psalm 89:8, 14
I will walk before the LORD in the land of the living.
Psalm 116:9

“Almighty God, whose blessed Son was led by the Spirit to be tempted by Satan: Come quickly to help us who are assaulted by many temptations; and, as you know the weaknesses of each of us, let each one find you mighty to save; through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.”

Father, as I go through this day, guide me by your Spirit to see your unexpected gifts. And then make my heart thankful for them. Keep my eyes on you, who are faithful, even when I am not. “Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!”

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

