Always Room Enough

Today is Saturday, March 18, 2017. Sixteen more days until Opening Day!

Quote of the Day

“I feel about airplanes the way I feel about diets. It seems to me they are wonderful things for other people to go on.” ~ Jean Kerr

Word of the Day

Vaunting ~ having a boastfully proud disposition: a vaunting dictator.

Today is Corn Dog Day. And to celebrate, Sonic has fifty-cent corn dogs all day today.

We made it to another Saturday. I don’t know of any plans for this weekend, and there’s not much going on. We will have our usual worship gathering tomorrow, but who knows what we will do for the rest of the weekend?

I finally started sleeping better. Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday nights, I didn’t sleep well at all. I rather playfully blamed Daylight Saving Time, but there may be something to that. Finally, the last three nights, I slept pretty well.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; sing to his name, for it is pleasant!
Psalm 135:3
In your righteousness deliver me and rescue me; incline your ear to me, and save me!
Psalm 71:2
O LORD, I am your servant; I am your servant, the son of your maidservant. You have loosed my bonds.
Psalm 116:16
I was pushed hard, so that I was falling, but the LORD helped me.
Psalm 118:13

(From The President’s Devotional)

“There is no sin, and there can be no sin on all the earth, which the Lord will not forgive to the truly repentant! Man cannot commit a sin so great as to exhaust the infinite love of God. Can there be a sin which could exceed the love of God?” ~ Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.
1 John 1:7

“Today, let’s be people of repentance. Like buckets of water tossed in the ocean, we carry our faults to God. There is room enough, always room enough, for him to receive them and forgive. So we repent today of our sins, and we are made clean.” ~ Joshua Dubois

Truly, we cannot exhaust the grace of God. As in the words of my current favorite worship song, “What A Beautiful Name,” “My sin was great, your love was greater. What can separate us now?” I love the word picture that Joshua presents above, that of carrying buckets of water to the ocean. We could dump buckets of water in the ocean all day long, and we would notice no difference in the ocean. Likewise, we could remove buckets of water from the ocean all day, and never notice a difference. To me, this is a perfect picture of God’s grace. I can carry my sin to him any time, and there is “always room enough.” I can take grace from him any time, and the storehouse of grace will never diminish.

Hallelujah!

“Father, forgive me of my sins, the ways I’ve fallen short of your purpose and plan. I repent and desire to sin no more. Amen.” ~ Joshua Dubois

Yes, Father, I pray for forgiveness for the ways in which I fall short of your purpose for my life. Every day. Forgive me for my faithless interactions with people, for my wicket thoughts, my judgment on people. Your grace is great! Your love is great! You are great! I am not worthy, but Jesus Christ has made me worthy! I will revel in the grace that you have lavished on me. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth! Show me the path to walk, each day. Let me not run ahead of your grace.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

