Fear Not, For I Am With You

Today is Tuesday, March 21, 2017. Thirteen days until Opening Day!

Quote of the Day

“People everywhere confuse what they read in newspapers with news.” ~ A. J. Liebling. I think I would update that to say “Facebook” instead of “newspapers.”

Word of the Day

Comportment ~ personal bearing or conduct; demeanor; behavior.

Today is World Poetry Day. There are a number of poets that I follow on WordPress, and if I start trying to name them, I will forget someone. So I’ll just say “Happy World Poetry Day” to all you poets!! Here’s a little haiku I composed on the fly.

Today is Tuesday
Wednesday will be tomorrow
Monday comes too soon

No extra charge for that.

Band practice was a hoot last night. We rehearsed part of a piece by P.D.Q. Bach (Peter Schikele), and it was so much fun. Plus remembering all of the P.D.Q. Bach songs I’ve heard over the years brought back some really awesome memories. The director is undecided if we will do the piece at the next concert, or maybe just a couple of the movements, as it is called “Six Contrary Dances.”

I have a work friend who is having breast cancer surgery tomorrow (Wednesday). If you are of the praying persuasion, would you mind lifting a prayer for her?

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

For God is the King of all the earth; sing praises with a psalm! 
God reigns over the nations; God sits on his holy throne.

Psalm 47:7-8
Make haste, O God, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me!
Psalm 70:1
Our God comes; he does not keep silence; before him is a devouring fire, around him a mighty tempest.
Psalm 50:3
The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.”
Psalm 14:1
The eyes of the LORD are toward the righteous and his ears toward their cry. 
The face of the LORD is against those who do evil, to cut off the memory of them from the earth. 
When the righteous cry for help, the LORD hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. 
The LORD is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit. 
Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the LORD delivers him out of them all. 
He keeps all his bones; not one of them is broken.

Psalm 34:15-20
Lord, have mercy on us.
Christ, have mercy on us.
Lord, have mercy on us.

(From Daily Guideposts 2017)

It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”
Deuteronomy 31:8

Brian Doyle writes, in quite painful language, about struggling with concerns over his daughter. He weeps over her. He struggles with faith, with knowing that God is in control, that God is watching out for both him and his daughter.

God told Isaiah, “Fear not, for I am with thee.” Brian wonders if Isaiah had daughters. “He didn’t lie awake at three in the morning desperate to hear the grumble of the car returning safely.”

I’ve been there. I have daughters. I am concerned for each of them, daily, for different reasons. I have struggled with faith, with knowing that God is in control, that God is watching out for both me and my daughters.

Then Brian Doyle says to God, “Suddenly, I have a flash of the oddest emotion, a terrible empathy for You, Who must watch so many of Your children flail and crash. O save her, Blessed One. Please? Be with her even on her darkest paths. Please?”

This are the kinds of prayers that speak the loudest. Prayers from the deepest depths of our hearts, with no hint of pride in them, because we know in our hearts that we can do absolutely nothing about the situation. God, and God alone, can handle it.

“Dear Mercy, almost always I show up here, hat in hand, asking You to save me from myself. But today I just beg desperately for my daughter. Heal her, bring her back to her deep sweet genuine self.” (Brian Doyle)

Father, I pray for my daughters today. Draw them into your arms and hold them. One needs healing of the mind while the other needs . . . well, she just needs you and doesn’t realize it, perhaps. Or maybe she’s closer than I know. That’s what I’m hoping, Lord. Either way, hold them close, my Father. Spread the love of Jesus Christ into both of their lives, that they may know that they are loved and that you care for them.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

4 thoughts on “Fear Not, For I Am With You

  1. So we have world poetry day….. I’Ve received soon a gift called Chocosophie , a box of little thin pieces of cocolate each of them in an envelope with a saying / philosophy on it. Really a nice way to say thank you . Each evening i read a little poetry while i enjoy the taste of a piece of chocolate.

    ” in winter time the trees show us their souls !”

Leave a Reply

