While We Were Sleeping

Today is Friday, March 24, 2017. TEN days until Opening Day!

Quote of the Day

“The reason why worry kills more people than work is that more people worry than work.” ~ Robert Frost

Word of the Day

Esoterica ~ things understood by or meant for a select few; recondite matters or items.

Question of the Day

Which laughably outdated fashion are you secretly hoping will make a comeback, because wow, you could definitely rock that look now?

Today is Chocolate Covered Raisins Day. I’m not especially fond of raisins, but, hey, chocolate. So there you go.

I’ve recently begun wondering why Friday is peoples’ favorite day of the week. Why isn’t it Saturday? I mean, we still have to get up and go to work on Friday. I’m certainly glad it’s Friday, because it means I don’t have to go to work tomorrow. But I like Saturday much better! On Monday morning, I don’t wish it was Friday. I wish it was Saturday.

Tonight, as previously mentioned, we have a gathering of worship team members. I’ll have to go straight from work, because it starts at 6:00 PM. This also means S will have to wait until after we get home from that to have dinner. Unless she gets all creative and makes something herself.

On a more serious note . . . oh, wait. I don’t have anything else.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul.
Psalm 66:14
Wondrously show your steadfast love, O Savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand. 
Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings,

Psalm 17:7-8
I thank you that you have answered me and have become my salvation.
Psalm 118:21
For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.
2 Corinthians 4:6

(From Living the Message)

“The Hebrew evening/morning sequence conditions us to the rhythms of grace. We go to sleep, and God begins his work. As we sleep he develops his covenant. We wake and are called out to participate in God’s creative action. We respond in faith, in work. But always grace is previous. Grace is primary. We wake into a world we didn’t make, into a salvation we didn’t earn. Evening: God begins, without our help, his creative day. Morning: God calls us to enjoy and share and develop the work he initiated. Creation and covenant are sheer grace and there to greet us every morning. George MacDonald once wrote that sleep is God’s contrivance for giving us the help he cannot get into us when we are awake.” (Eugene H. Peterson)

While I don’t believe that God only works at night (and I’m pretty sure brother Peterson doesn’t believe that, either), this is a beautiful word picture of the rhythms of grace. Somewhere along the way, we westerners got it mixed up and started beginning our day with morning. But if you read the Bible carefully, that’s not how it began. This idea of rhythm in life is something that I started learning a couple years ago. Adhering to the Hebrew way of thinking, we work out of our rest. The day begins with rest, as we go to sleep, and continues with work in the morning. But we tend to think of it backwards. Our day begins with work, and then we rest from our work. We need to adjust that thinking and get a better rhythm, waking up excited to see what God has arranged for us while we were sleeping.

It’s useless to rise early and go to bed late, and work your worried fingers to the bone. Don’t you know he enjoys giving rest to those he loves?
Psalm 127:2 (The Message)

Father, help me to adapt this rhythm to my life. I have begun to understand it, but still don’t quite have it down. Help me to work out of my rest, and to wake every morning in anticipation of what you have prepared for me that day.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

