Not Ashamed

Today is Saturday, March 25, 2017. NINE more days until Opening Day!

Quote of the Day

“Nothing travels faster than the speed of light with the possible exception of bad news, which obeys its own special laws.” ~ Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Word of the Day

Coterminous ~ having the same border or covering the same area.

Question of the Day

What was the title of the first James Bond movie, in 1962 — it contained the name of a profession in the title — and what 32-year old actor first starred as James Bond? (The answer will be at the end of the blog)

Today is Tolkien Reading Day. Although The Lord of the Rings has become immensely popular, the idea behind this day is to get people to realize that there is a lot more to Tolkien than just LotR. For example, did you know that he invented the Elfen language before he wrote LotR?

I’m a little later blogging today, because C and I did sometime different today. After I got up (C got up before me today), I suggested that we go out for breakfast, just she and I. Her and I? Whatever. She liked that idea, so we got dressed and went to a new-ish place called River Oaks Cafe 2. I suppose the “2” is because there must be another one that is, perhaps, actually in River Oaks. We had a very nice time, the food was delicious, and the service was friendly and casual. The girls that served us seemed to be teenage girls, possible high school age or slightly older, perhaps. And they have HUGE pancakes. One quote said “pancakes the size of hubcaps.” That wasn’t too far off. I asked the cashier how many pancakes they throw away ever day, and she said, “You have no idea!” They were good, but we couldn’t even come close to eating them all. They also serve Ekrich sausage as an option with their breakfast. Mm mm good!

After that, we went across the street to the library, because C had some books on CD that were due. I checked out a couple of books, because I seem to be unable to go into a library and come out empty handed. I got The Girl on the Train and Day Shift, which is the second book in the “Midnight, Texas” series by Charlaine Harris.

I have no idea what the rest of today will bring.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Awake, my glory! Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn!
Psalm 57:8
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.
Agnus Dei
For you alone are the Holy One, you alone are the Lord,
you alone are the most High, Jesus Christ,
with the Holy Spirit, in the Glory of God the Father.
Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the LORD!
Psalm 31:24

(From The President’s Devotional)

Nevertheless, many even of the authorities believed in him, but for fear of the Pharisees they did not confess it, so that they would not be put out of the synagogue; for they loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God.
John 12:42-43

There is a sadness to this passage, both for the people to whom it is referring, and for me, as well. Joshua DuBois asks, “How many disciples might Jesus have had if men and women were bold enough to declare themselves as such?”

We know of twelve “official” disciples. But they might have been joined by “dozens, even hundreds more.” We know that the teachings of Jesus touched more people in the New Testament accounts, but there was a small problem. Many of those were afraid to declare their allegiance to him, or even that he, somehow, touched their lives, out of fear of the authorities. “But imagine what more God could have done through those rulers if they stepped out in faith and declared, ‘I am your disciple.'” Even Nicodemus, the man who gave up his tomb for Jesus’s burial, came to him at night for fear that the other Pharisees might see him.

May we be bolder than these, and declare that we are followers of Christ, regardless of any ridicule or other consequences that we might face. “And let history record that we were not ashamed.”

“Dear God, let the private love I feel for you find ways to express itself publicly. Present me with an opportunity to let my brothers and sisters know how I feel about you. Amen.” (Joshua DuBois)

Father, I confess and repent of the times when I have not proclaimed my discipleship to Christ. I am not ashamed of you. I have never been ashamed of me. It’s complicated to explain, but I know that you understand. It has always been me that I’ve been ashamed of; ashamed of my inadequacy to fully follow you with all my heart. As my life verse indicates, my heart is divided among many things in this world. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name. If my heart needs to be united, it means that it is divided. I always feel that I have disappointed you. But, then, in the back of my mind, there is this thought that maybe that’s not possible because of Jesus. So let me not be ashamed. Give me boldness to speak out when the opportunities come. I am not ashamed.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

I’m reminded of this song by the “real” Newsboys.

Grace and peace, friends.

Trivia answer: The movie is Dr. No, and the actor, of course, the greatest Bond ever, is Sean Connery.

Leave a Reply

