That They May Be One

Today is Tuesday, March 28, 2017. SIX more days until Opening Day!!

Quote of the Day

“In politics stupidity is not a handicap.” ~ Napoleon Bonaparte

Word of the Day

Coze ~ a friendly talk; a chat.

Question of the Day

What is the only country of South American whose official language is English? (Answer at end of blog)

Today is Something On A Stick Day. I wonder if they put it this way because they couldn’t spell shish kebab. But it’s not all about that particular type of food on a stick. The ever popular “sausage-on-a-stick” at fairs would count, too. Anything on a stick. Corn dogs, frozen bananas, even popsicles, I suppose.

I wound up not going to band practice last night. I decided I would rather spend the evening at home with C and S. So I stopped at Subway on the way home and picked up dinner for us, since that’s what they were planning to have, anyway. C and I watched a couple of episodes of Criminal Minds. We are currently in season 7, getting close to the end. Episode 19 had Juliet Landau in it, who played Drusilla in Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Guess what! She was crazy in this Criminal Minds episode, too!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul.
Psalm 66:14
May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah. 
that your way may be known on earth, your saving power among all nations.

Psalm 67:1-2
Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my sojourning.
Psalm 119:54
Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Psalm 51:8
Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; 
from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I, 
for you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy. 
Let me dwell in your tent forever! Let me take refuge under the shelter of your wings! Selah. 
For you, O God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.

Psalm 61:1-5

(From The President’s Devotional)

“Our Saviour’s great rule, that ‘we should love our neighbor as ourselves,’ is such a fundamental truth for the regulating human society, that, I think, by that alone one might without difficulty determine all the cases and doubts in social morality.” ~ John Locke, “An Essay Concerning Human Understanding”

And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one.
John 17:11

In John’s account of the words of Jesus, how close are we to be with other believers? As close as Jesus is to God. “No separation. No distance. Enmeshed. One.”

Whenever our enemy tries to divide us, may we remember this truth. These are precious relationships. “That they may be one, even as we are one,” said Jesus.

“Lord, help me remove any distance between me and those I love. Amen.” (Joshua DuBois)

Father, indeed, there are many trivial things that threaten to come between me and my brother and sisters. May you remind us all, each day, that your Spirit is within us all to keep us together as one. May you, Father, honor the prayer of your Son, that we might be one, even as you and Jesus are one.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Answer to the trivia question: Guyana

Leave a Reply

