Be

Today is Wednesday, March 29, 2017. FIVE more days until Opening Day!!

Quote of the Day

“They didn’t want it good, they wanted it Wednesday.” ~ Robert Heinlein

Word of the Day

Vulpine ~ of or resembling a fox. Also, cunning or crafty.

Question of the Day

What is your “spirit animal” and why? I don’t really believe in “spirit animals,” but if I did, mine would be a fox. Why? Because I really like foxes. What other reason do I need?

Today is Manatee Appreciation Day. Apparently, there are enough people who are enthusiastic about manatees to make this a thing, so there you go.

We had storms last night. We were awakened by tornado sirens going off. Well, C was awakened by tornado sirens. I was awakened by C asking, “Are those sirens?” Indeed, they were, so we got up. Well, I got up, and was shortly joined by S, while we watched the TV alerts. Our power never went off, unlike other areas close by, some of which are still without power. There were a couple of tornado warnings in our county, but I never heard of any actual tornadoes. This brings up a question. When did they change the qualifications for “tornado warning?” It used to be that it wasn’t a “warning” until there was actually a funnel cloud on or near the ground. Now, if they see “rotation” in the clouds, they call “tornado warning,” which used to be a “tornado watch,” meaning that conditions were ripe for a tornado. The effect of this is that I no longer take a “tornado warning” seriously. Time was, if they said “tornado warning” in my area, I’m hitting the middle bathroom in the house. Now, I stand by the back door and watch the TV.

Needless to say, I’m sleepy this morning, because we were awake for close to thirty minutes in the middle of the night.

Today is R’s birthday. It’s only fitting, as we had tornado warnings in the middle of the night. That seems to be a common occurrence on R’s birthday. Happy birthday, if you happen to read this!

I’m also way behind, so I’d better get moving.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

With my mouth I will give great thanks to the LORD; I will praise him in the midst of the throng. 
Psa 109:31  For he stands at the right hand of the needy one, to save him from those who condemn his soul to death. 

Psalm 109:30-31
Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling! 
Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God.

Psalm 43:3-4
“Splendor and honor and kingly power are yours by right, O Lord our God,
For you created everything that is, and by your will they were created and have their being.” (A Song to the Lamb)
The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness, on them has light shone.
Isaiah 9:2

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.
Psalm 90:12
Be still, and know that I am God.
Psalm 46:10

Father, teach me to be still. There is always so much movement, either of the body or of the mind. Teach me to be still. Teach me to sit and watch; to sit and wait; to wait for you. Teach me to just be.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

