God’s Word To Us

Today is Thursday, March 30, 2017. FOUR more days until Opening Day.

Quote of the Day

“There’s no trick to being a humorist when you have the whole government working for you.” ~ Will Rogers

Word of the Day

Transpicuous ~ clearly seen through or understood.

Today is Take A Walk In the Park Day. That would be nice. I wish I could do that today, but probably will not have time.

We have our bi-weekly Night of Worship Missional Gathering tonight (I don’t care for that word, “missional,” as it really isn’t a word, but it is what it is). We’re all bringing our own food for an evening of fellowship and fun. Tonight, the NoW leader and I will be planning out the set list for this Saturday’s event, which will begin at 6:00 PM Saturday evening, April 1. I told him we should start out with an old hymn and then say that we are going to do all hymns for this one. April fool!

The Texas Rangers will be coming home from Arizona today. They will have a couple of exhibition games with the KC Royals over the weekend, then the season begins Monday. Hard to believe it’s already here. Once again, however, I will confess that baseball hasn’t had quite the same appeal to me since April 20, 2015.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Hear, O my people, while I admonish you! O Israel, if you would but listen to me! 
There shall be no strange god among you; you shall not bow down to a foreign god. 
I am the LORD your God, who brought you up out of the land of Egypt. Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it. 

Psalm 81:8-10
Teach me your way, O LORD, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name.
Psalm 86:11
My mouth will tell of your righteous acts, of your deeds of salvation all the day, for their number is past my knowledge.
Psalm 71:15
. . . but the LORD takes pleasure in those who fear him, in those who hope in his steadfast love.
Psalm 147:11

(From Living the Message)

On the topic of reading Scripture, Eugene H. Peterson says, “If the Revelation is masterful in getting us involved in a living response to scripture, it is also unavoidable in its claim that scripture is God’s word to us, not human words about God. Reading scripture as if it were the writings of various persons throughout history giving their ideas or experiences of God, is perhaps the commonest mistake that is made in reading scripture. And the deadliest.”

God means what he says. What he says goes. His powerful Word is sharp as a surgeon’s scalpel, cutting through everything, whether doubt or defense, laying us open to listen and obey.
Hebrews 4:12 (The Message)

Father, the best way for me to learn your ways is to read your words. Teach me from your words, that might life and walk might line up with the words and teachings of Jesus Christ. If I truly believe what I read, I will walk as he walked, and I will be actively participating in his “easy yoke.” I do believe. Help my unbelief!
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

