Coffee Mug and Prayer Journal

Today is Saturday, April 1, 2017. April Fool’s Day. TWO MORE DAYS UNTIL OPENING DAY!!!

Quote of the Day

“You can always tell a real friend: when you’ve made a fool of yourself he doesn’t feel you’ve done a permanent job.” ~ Laurence J. Peter

Word of the Day

Plisky ~ a mischievous trick; practical joke; prank. Found primarily in northern Ireland, Scotland, and northern England.

Today is Sourdough Bread Day. I certainly enjoy sourdough bread! “If there’s one thing any sandwich connoisseur knows, it’s that there are few sandwiches that aren’t made better by the addition of sourdough bread.” Yes! I agree! My favorite breakfast sandwich, for example, is Jack in the Box’s “Loaded Breakfast Sandwich,” which is made on sourdough toast.

So it’s Saturday, and here it is almost noon. I got distracted earlier, trying to print and sort music for tonight’s Night of Worship and tomorrow’s worship gathering. I got frustrated by key signature ambiguity, though, and decided to set that aside and finish my devotional time. The Night of Worship will be tonight at 6:00 PM. We will be at the host’s home by 3:00 PM today for set up and rehearsal. I may be taking both my guitar and my keyboard. I’m still vacillating on that.

There’s not much else happening this weekend, which I prefer on weekends with NoW. We thought R & J might come over tomorrow for birthday celebration, but they are going to meet up with us at Mama’s house, next Saturday, which is her birthday! So we will celebrate two birthdays together.

The Rangers shut out the Royals, 3-0, in an exhibition game, last night in Arlington. They play another game today at 1:05.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Awake, my glory! Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn!
Psalm 57:8
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.
(Agnus Dei)
For you alone are the Holy One, you alone are the Lord,
you alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ,
with the Holy Spirit, in the Glory of God the Father.
Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God.
Psalm 31:5
In you, O LORD, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame! 
In your righteousness deliver me and rescue me; incline your ear to me, and save me! 
Be to me a rock of refuge, to which I may continually come; you have given the command to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress. 
Rescue me, O my God, from the hand of the wicked, from the grasp of the unjust and cruel man. 
For you, O Lord, are my hope, my trust, O LORD, from my youth. 
Upon you I have leaned from before my birth; you are he who took me from my mother’s womb. My praise is continually of you. 
I have been as a portent to many, but you are my strong refuge. 
My mouth is filled with your praise, and with your glory all the day. 
Do not cast me off in the time of old age; forsake me not when my strength is spent.

Psalm 71:1-9

(From Daily Guideposts 2017)

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.
Lamentations 3:22-23

Julie Garmon continues in a series of readings called “Beauty From Ashes,” regarding helping her daughter through a divorce. The new checking account was opened, a grocery list was made. “What happens next, Mom?” asked Katie.

They decided to head to the store and tackle the shopping list. Katie reminisced about times when they had prayed and read the Bible together. She purposed to begin every day in that way, and headed for the stationery area. When Julie asked what she was looking for, Katie replied, “A prayer journal.” She found one she liked, and said, “Now I need a coffee mug.”
“Don’t you want a set of dishes?” (She had left her dishes behind in her haste to get things done quickly.)
“Nope, I only want one mug, and my prayer journal. That’s all I need.”

How often do we find ourselves chasing after “stuff” that we don’t need? Just this morning, I find myself fighting urges to buy new musical instruments. I’ve been playing a lot more, lately, both guitar and keys (as well as trombone). But I don’t need a new instrument. I have everything I need. Sure, a shiny new red keyboard would be fabulous! But I don’t need it.

Katie found what she needed. She had, for all intents and purposes, lost everything. When God is all we have, he is all we need.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. 
Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea. 

Psalm 46:1-2
His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence.
2 Peter 1:3

Father, you have brought me from a place in my life where I obsessed over stuff. I still have a lot of stuff, but it’s not as important to me as it used to be. I don’t long for things that I don’t have any more. But have I really reached a place where I can say “All I have in you is more than enough?” I fear not. I want to be at that place. My heart’s desire is to be able to say that. You are enough. You are more than enough. “You are my reward, worth living for.” I love you Lord. May I worship you tonight with a passion that I have never felt.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

