Sometimes It Is Better To Be Than To Do

Today is Monday, April 3, 2017. OPENING DAY!!

Quote of the Day

“One of the disadvantages of wine is that it makes a man mistake words for thoughts.” ~ Samuel Johnson

Word of the Day

Aginner ~ a person who opposes a plan, proposed legislation, or any drastic change. He won the election by appealing to the aginners.

Today is Chocolate Mousse Day. Now there’s something that sounds delicious!!

While technically MLB Opening Day was yesterday, most fans consider it to be today, because only six teams played yesterday, and none of them were my favorites. In fact, at least half of them were my most “not favorites.” The Rays beat the Yankees 7-3. Some folks celebrated that because the Yankees lost. I don’t celebrate it because the Rays won. There’s no way I can win in this series. I loathe both teams. The Diamondbacks beat the Giants 6-5. I have no feelings about that game. The Cardinals beat the Cubs 4-3. That’s a tough one, as well. I’m not a fan of the current management of the Cubs, but I don’t like the Cardinals, either. I like some of the players on the Cubs, though, as well as the GM, which almost overcomes my dislike of Joe Maddon.

Today, the Red Sox play the Pirates in a rematch of the 1903 World Series. Rick Porcello, 2016 Cy Young winner, will take the mound for the Sox, at Fenway Park. 1:05 PM. The Rangers play the AL Champion Indians, with Yu Darvish taking the mound at Rangers Ballpark. 6:05 PM. I’m not sure why the Rangers moved their start time to such an odd time.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Blessed are those whose way is blameless, who walk in the law of the LORD! 
Blessed are those who keep his testimonies, who seek him with their whole heart, 
who also do no wrong, but walk in his ways! 

Psalm 119:1-3
Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.
Psalm 51:12
But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.
Psalm 86:15
For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God?
Psalm 18:31
Great are the works of the LORD, studied by all who delight in them.
The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy; 
they are established forever and ever, to be performed with faithfulness and uprightness. 
He sent redemption to his people; he has commanded his covenant forever. Holy and awesome is his name! 
The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding. His praise endures forever!

Psalm 111:2, 7-10

(From Living the Message)

Dissatisfaction in Being

Eugene Peterson has been talking about spiritual direction in the last couple of days’ readings. A “spiritual director” is a person well-versed in the spiritual disciplines, or spiritual formation, who is available to help people who come to them with their spiritual frustrations. In today’s reading, he says, “The suggestion to do something is nearly always inappropriate, for persons who come for spiritual direction are troubled over some disorder or dissatisfaction in being, not doing. They need a friend who will pay attention to who they are, not a project manager who will order additional busywork.” When we reach this state, assigned actions are usually avoidance techniques, distractions from the real issues. They might provide relief for a time, but it will be only temporary.

Oswald Chambers speaks of this frequently in My Utmost for His Highest, speaking of the attraction of doing things for God, rather than spending intimate time with God. This would require a transparency that we usually are not willing to experience.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.
Matthew 11:28-29 (The Message)

Father, teach me this “being.” A large part of my life has been caught up in “doing,” as that is the human way, especially in Western culture. But sometimes, maybe even most times, we simply need to be. Teach me to be. Teach me to be in Christ, observing all that he does and says, and then trying to rearrange my life to look more like his in those ways. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth, so that I can praise you with my whole heart.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

