“We Must Practice What We Preach”

Today is Friday, April 7, 2017. Nine more days until Easter.

Quote of the Day

“Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, it only saps today of its joy.” ~ Leo Buscaglia

Word of the Day

Inveterate ~ settled or confirmed in a habit, practice, feeling, or the like.

Today is Walk to Work Day. I am always amused when this comes around, because I drive 30 miles one way to work. I would have to start walking at midnight to get to work by 8:00 AM. And I wouldn’t get home until after midnight. No thank you.

The Rangers had a day off, yesterday, and the Red Sox got rained out. The Sox play in Detroit tonight, with Steven Wright on the mound. The Rangers play Oakland, at Arlington, with A.J. Griffin trying to bring their first win.

Not much else to talk about, other than it being Friday, so we have a weekend coming up! The next few weekends appear to be busy ones, but they are “fun” busy, so that’s helpful. This weekend, it’s the birthday-palooza in Mineral Wells. Next weekend is Easter, along with our return to The Secret Chambers for the Pirate Room (this is part of R’s birthday present). On Friday, April 21, we are going to see The Choir at a church in Bedford. April 29 is the next Southlake Community Band concert. May 6 is our next Night of Worship, and May 13 is another band concert.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Make haste, O God, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me!
Psalm 70:1
Blessed is the one you choose and bring near, to dwell in your courts! We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, the holiness of your temple! 
Psalm 65:4
. . . the LORD—knows the thoughts of man, that they are but a breath. 
Psa 94:12  Blessed is the man whom you discipline, O LORD, and whom you teach out of your law.

Psalm 94:11-12
For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. 
He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. 
On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. 
Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Selah. 
Those of low estate are but a breath; those of high estate are a delusion; in the balances they go up; they are together lighter than a breath. 
Put no trust in extortion; set no vain hopes on robbery; if riches increase, set not your heart on them. 
Once God has spoken; twice have I heard this: that power belongs to God, 
and that to you, O Lord, belongs steadfast love. For you will render to a man according to his work. 

Psalm 62:5-12

(From The President’s Devotional)

You then who teach others, do you not teach yourself? While you preach against stealing, do you steal? You who say that one must not commit adultery, do you commit adultery? You who abhor idols, do you rob temples? You who boast in the law dishonor God by breaking the law.
Romans 2:21-23
“Saint abroad, and a devil at home.” ~ John Bunyan, The Pilgrim’s Progress

“We must practice what we preach.

“Our exhortations cannot be hollow words. They’ll ring as such on the ears of those around us if we don’t back them up with our living. If we are consistent, we will lead others in a consistent path. If not, we’ll lead them astray.

Dear Father, I pray for internal consistency. Let me live honorably in private as well as in public. Amen.” (Joshua Dubois)

Amen, Father! May the words of my mouth match the path of my feet. May my thoughts and actions line up with the things that I say that I believe. Give me consistency. Help me to live and walk in the steps of and by the words of my Savior.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

