Amen!

Today is Saturday, April 8, 2017. Eight more days until Easter.

Quote of the Day

“Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue, and the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true.” ― E.Y. Harburg

Word of the Day

Frenemy ~ a person or group that is friendly toward another because the relationship brings benefits, but harbors feelings of resentment or rivalry.

Today is Zoo Lovers Day. I can guarantee you that there are, literally, thousands more zoo lovers today than there were a few months ago. Because why? This is why!
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClnQCgFa9lCBL-KXZMOoO9Q/live

The Texas Rangers finally got their first win of the season, last night, as they blasted the Oakland A’s, 10-5, mostly behind the bat of Nomar Mazara, who had a grand slam home run and a total of 6 RBIs on the night. Pitching continues to be an issue, though, as the Rangers’ 8-0 lead was quickly cut in half by one bad inning. However, a “W” is a “W.” They are 1-3 on the season.

The Red Sox struggled with the Tigers in Detroit’s home opener. They fell behind 4-0 and stayed that way, until the top of the eighth inning, when, behind a Pabol Sandoval three run homer, they went ahead 5-4. The bullpen came in and, after striking out the first two batters in the bottom of the eighth, blew the lead. The Sox lost 6-5, the last out coming with runners on second and third. The Sox are 2-1 on the season.

As previously stated, we will be traveling to Mineral Wells, later today, to have lunch and birthday celebrations with my mother and R, and it will be my birthday celebration with my mother, as well, as we have not seen each other since my birthday. Good times.

In other news, April the Giraffe is still pregnant.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

But we will bless the LORD from this time forth and forevermore. Praise the LORD! 
Psalm 115:18
I cry to you, O LORD; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.”
Psalm 142:5
Be exalted, O God, above the heavens! Let your glory be over all the earth!
Psalm 108:5
For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor. No good thing does he withhold from those who walk uprightly.
Psalm 84:11

(From Living the Message)

Immersed in God’s Yes

As is so often the case with Eugene Peterson, I don’t believe I could do justice to this reading by paraphrasing. So here it is, as he wrote it.

“The end result of the act of worship is that our lives are turned around. We come to God with a history of nay-saying, of rejecting and being rejected. At the throne of God we are immersed in God’s yes, a yes that silences all our noes and calls forth an answering yes in us. God, not the ego, is the center. God is not someone around whom we make calculating qualifications, a little yes here, a little no there. In worship we ‘listen to the voice of Being’ and become answers to it. The self is no longer the hub of reality, as sin seduces us into supposing. We are trained from infancy to relate to the world in an exploratory, exploitive way, refusing and grabbing, pushing and pulling, fretting and inveigling. As knower and user the ego is a predator. But in worship we cease being predators who by stealth approach everyone as prey that we can pull into our center; we respond to the center. We are privileged listeners and respondents who offer ourselves to God, who creates and redeems. Amen! Amen is recurrent and emphatic among God’s people. It is robust and exuberant. There is nothing cowering, cautious, or timid in it. It is an answering word, purged of all negatives.”

Whatever God has promised gets stamped with the Yes of Jesus. In him, this is what we preach and pray, the great Amen, God’s Yes and our Yes together, gloriously evident. God affirms us, making us a sure thing in Christ, putting his Yes within us.
2 Corinthians 1:20-21 (The Message)

Father, I have never thought of myself as a predator! But this reading has made me step back and consider my relationships in the context of your Kingdom. I pray, desperately, that I would never approach people “as prey that [I] can pull into [my] center!” My heart’s desire is to respond to you, the center of my being. May I truly offer myself to you in my worship, especially as I gather with the saints tomorrow morning. May your Spirit remind me, even as we practice the morning’s music, to be in constant worship by surrendering to you, the center of everything, and to offer back to you my Amen!
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

