Lead Me In Your Truth

Today is Monday, April 10, 2017. Monday in Holy Week. Six days until Easter.

Quote of the Day

“Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please.” ~ Mark Twain

Word of the Day

Widdershins ~ in a left-handed, wrong, or contrary direction : counterclockwise.

Today is International Safety Pin Day. Don’t ask me, I don’t make these up. “Legend has it that, in 1849, Walter Hunt, the inventor of the safety pin, owed a friend $15 and decided to invent something new in order to earn the money to repay him. He invented the safety pin.”

The Red Sox beat the Tigers, yesterday, 7-5, by coming up with a 4-run eighth inning. Matt Barnes got the win, as they were behind 4-3 when Porcello left the game. The Sox are now 3-2 on the season, in third place in the AL East. They play another game against the Tigers today at 12:10 PM.

The Rangers had what I would consider their first “solid” win of the season, beating the A’s 8-1. Martin Perez got his first win of the season, and the Rangers also got their first series win for the season. They are 2-4 on the season, in fourth place in the AL West. They have the day off today, and will be traveling to the west coast for a series against the first place Angels.

We had a nice day, yesterday. The worship gathering went well, and the afternoon was nice. C went to the grocery store and let me stay home and play Mass Effect. That was totally her idea. We had Subway for lunch while we watched a few TV shows from the DVR, then C took a nap while I played some more. Dinner was leftovers, along with a couple episodes of Criminal Minds.

C isn’t feeling well this morning. Sounds like she’s catching a cold. She’s staying home from work today. I’ve got band practice tonight, as we prepare for our next concert, which will be on April 29 at the Southlake Town Square, for “Art In the Square.”

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

My mouth is filled with your praise, and with your glory all the day. 
Do not cast me off in the time of old age; forsake me not when my strength is spent.

Psalm 71:8-9
O LORD, God of my salvation; I cry out day and night before you. 
Let my prayer come before you; incline your ear to my cry!

Psalm 88:1-2
Make me to know your ways, O LORD; teach me your paths. 
Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.

Psalm 25:4-5
Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. 
Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. 
Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit. 
Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will return to you.

Psalm 51:10-13
“Almighty God, who through your only-begotten Son Jesus Christ overcame death and opened to us the gate of everlasting life: Grant that I, who celebrate with joy the day of the Lord’s resurrection, may be raised from the death of sin by your life-giving Spirit; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever. Amen.” (The Divine Hours)

Father, as we approach the day on which we celebrate your resurrection, may my thoughts be drawn to your journey to the cross. May I have a quietness of reflection, during this week, and help me maintain a depth of love for you, your Spirit, and your Son, as well as for the people that I encounter every day. Teach me your ways that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

