More of You

Today is Thursday, April 13, 2017. Maundy Thursday. Three days until Easter.

Quote of the Day

“Cynicism is an unpleasant way of saying the truth.” ~ Lillian Hellman

Word of the Day

Hypozeuxis ~ the use of a series of parallel clauses, each of which has a subject and predicate, as in “I came, I saw, I conquered.”

Today is Scrabble Day. I haven’t played Scrabble in a long time. I haven’t even played “Words with Friends” in a long time. In fact, I don’t think I even have the app, currently. I do remember being terribly amused when they came out with a board game version of Words with Friends. I was like, “Ummm . . . hasn’t that already been done?” Anyway. Enjoy a word game of some sort today. It can’t help but boost your thinking skills.

So it was a bad day for the Red Sox, yesterday, specifically for Steven Wright, who gave up eight runs (including four home runs) in an inning and a third. Obviously his knuckler wasn’t moving at all. They wound up losing, 12-5, to the Orioles. They appear to be playing their makeup game with the Pirates tonight. Rodriguez will take the mound for the Sox. They remain in third place in the AL East, with a 4-4 record.

The Rangers won their game with the Angels, 8-3, behind a good outing from A.J. Griffin. The key in this game was that Sam Dyson did NOT pitch. They remain in fourth place in the AL West, with a 3-5 record. They finish their series with the Angels, this afternoon, with Yu Darvish taking the mound. Are they only using four starters?

We have scheduled a weekend visit to east Texas in May. We will be taking my mother to visit her twin brother and family the weekend of May 20. We are hoping that all of my cousins (from that side of the family) will be able to make it, as well, for a sort of “family reunion.” It’s not “organized” as such, of course. But it would be great to all be together and not be going to a funeral. I’m kind of hoping that we can find a restaurant with a large room we can all gather in.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Those who trust in the LORD are like Mount Zion, which cannot be moved, but abides forever. 
As the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the LORD surrounds his people, from this time forth and forevermore.

Psalm 125:2
Make me understand the way of your precepts, and I will meditate on your wondrous works.
Psalm 119:27
Remember your word to your servant, in which you have made me hope. 
This is my comfort in my affliction, that your promise gives me life.

Psalm 119:49-50
Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.
John 14:1
“Look down, O Lord, I pray, on all of us, Your family for whom our Lord Jesus Christ was content to be betrayed and to be delivered into the hands of wicked men, and to suffer the torment of the Cross. Amen.” (The Divine Hours)

(From Living the Message)

Today’s reading is “Simplify.” Once again, I’m quoting the entire reading.

“I want to simplify your lives. When others are telling you to read more, I want to tell you to read less; when others are telling you to do more, I want to tell you to do less. The world does not need more of you; it needs more of God. Your friends do not need more of you; they need more of God. And you don’t need more of you; you need more of god. For we do not progress in the Christian life by becoming more competent, more knowledgeable, more virtuous, or more energetic. We do not advance in the Christian life by acquiring expertise. Each day, and many times each day, we need more of God. Back to Square One.” (Eugene H. Peterson)

The world and all its wanting, wanting, wanting is on the way out—but whoever does what God wants is set for eternity.
1 John 2:17 (The Message)

Father, as I read from the Psalms this morning, I had a sobering realization. I discovered that there was a bit more desire to read books about your Word, rather than read your Word, itself. I repent of this desire. Give me more of you. As I read your words, let them sink into my soul; let them guide my soul; let them strengthen my soul; let them purify my soul. Help me to take better care of my soul. Give me more of you.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

