Live What I Believe

Today is Monday, April 17, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.” ~ Michelangelo

Word of the Day

Smattering ~ a slight, superficial, or introductory knowledge of something.

Today is Blah Blah Blah Day. No, really. I swear I’m not making this up. Click the link.

I’m staying home from work today. As evening wore on, last night, I started feeling a heaviness in my chest, congestion building up. I didn’t sleep well (or maybe I slept better than I thought and was dreaming that I wasn’t sleeping), and may go back to sleep after I finish this blog. I woke up feeling like I have a brick in my chest. I’m sure it’s nothing serious. Just one of those “colds” or whatever they are. We had one guy come to work for two days last week with something similar, and he finally called in Friday. I decided that I would call in the first day instead of going to work for several days, thereby exposing the rest of the crew to whatever I’ve got. Of course, it will cost me PTO, since we don’t get sick leave any more.

All that aside, I must report that we had a most excellent time at the Escape Room, yesterday. As before, we had an interactive hostess, who started us off with the story that we were in Blackbeard’s cabin, looking for the treasure map which had been cut into five pieces. We had to find those five pieces, along with the key to get us out of the room. We lost count of how many little boxes we had to unlock, some with numeric codes, others with symbolic codes and a couple with letter codes. We got off to a bit of a slow start, but by the time we were done, we were moving at a pretty frantic pace. It was great fun, and we “escaped” the room with two minutes and thirty-four seconds left on the clock. Talk about adrenaline!

Before we went to the Escape Room, we had lunch at a delightful little restaurant on Camp Bowie, just a few doors down from the Texas State Optical store where I got glasses when I was a young boy. Memories . . . Anyway, the restaurant was called Pho and Grill 2. Pho is pronounced “fuh.” It’s Vietnamese noodle soup, made with rice noodles (called “banh pho,” hence the name “pho”), broth, herbs, and some kind of meat, usually beef or chicken. This was the first time I ever had pho. And I have to say it was quite delicious. Hard to eat, but delicious, none the less. I got mine with eye of round steak and brisket. R had chicken. C got something different, a “crispy rice” dish with some seasoned beef, and J got something with egg noodles instead of rice noodles. Along with the pho bowl, we got a plate of bean sprouts, basil, lime, and jalapenos to add to the soup. I added bean sprouts, basil, and jalapenos to mine, but no lime. I also added a generous portion of Sriracha sauce. Apparently, that’s a “criminal” act, similar to putting ketchup on a good steak. Oh, well. Live and learn. I have also just learned that it is totally acceptable to pick up the bowl and slurp the broth. I’m actually looking forward to trying pho again.

The Rangers continue to slide. Unfortunately, they let Sam Dyson pitch again, last night, so he, not unexpectedly, blew a save and lost the game. They really need to bench him until they can figure out what’s wrong. He was nearly perfect in the World Baseball Classic. It doesn’t make sense. Anyway, they lost to the Mariners again, last night, 8-7, and are now in last place in the AL West.

The Red Sox beat the Rays again, 7-5, as Joe Kelly got his second win (he was not the starter; he has won two games in relief). They are in third place in the AL East, behind Baltimore and New York. The Boo Jays remain in last, with a 2-10 record. I’m enjoying that a little too much, perhaps. Baltimore is currently the best team in MLB, with a record of 8-3.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

I will lift up my hands toward your commandments, which I love, and I will meditate on your statutes.
Psalm 119:48
O God, be not far from me; O my God, make haste to help me!
Psalm 71:12
O God, from my youth you have taught me, and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds.
Psalm 71:17
This is the LORD’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes.
Psalm 118:23
Give ear to my words, O LORD; consider my groaning. 
Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you do I pray. 
O LORD, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch. 
For you are not a God who delights in wickedness; evil may not dwell with you. 
  The boastful shall not stand before your eyes; you hate all evildoers. 
You destroy those who speak lies; the LORD abhors the bloodthirsty and deceitful man. 
But I, through the abundance of your steadfast love, will enter your house. I will bow down toward your holy temple in the fear of you.

Psalm 5:1-7
“Almighty and everlasting God, who in the Paschal mystery established the new covenant of reconciliation: Grant that all who have been reborn in this fellowship of Christ’s Body may show forth in their lives what they profess by their faith; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.” (The Divine Hours)

Father, as I pray for bodily healing this day, may I also live out the things that I claim to believe.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Leave a Reply

