The Touch

Today is Tuesday, April 18, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“And remember, no matter where you go, there you are.” ~ Earl Mac Rauch, from “Buckaroo Bansai”

Word of the Day

Grimalkin ~ domestic cat; especially , an old female cat.

Today is World Heritage Day. We all celebrate the heritage of our individual cultures, but this one day a year is set aside to celebrate the rich heritage of the history of the world. It’s really quite overwhelming, if you think about it, the history of the world.

I’m feeling a little better today. I could certainly do with staying home another day, but I guess I’ll go to work. Having an extra day to rest certainly did me some good. We’ll see how this progresses. I still have a bit of heaviness in my chest, though.

The Red Sox pulled off an early win yesterday, as it was Patriot Day in Boston, also the day of the Boston Marathon. The Sox always start their games before noon on Patriot Day. They beat Tampa Bay 4-3, improving their record to 8-5. They are still in third place, but only one game out of first. They play the last place Boo Jays in Toronto tonight. Someone named Johnson will be on the mound.

The Rangers had another solid win, last night, beating Oakland 7-0, behind A.J. Griffin, who got his second win of the season. Their record is now 5-8, and they are tied for last place, with Oakland. So they have a chance to get out of the cellar tonight. They play the A’s again tonight at 9:05 CDT, with Yu Darvish on the mound.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul.
Psalm 66:14
May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah. 
Psa 67:2  that your way may be known on earth, your saving power among all nations.

Psalm 67:1-2
Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my sojourning.
Psalm 119:54
Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Psalm 51:8
Hear my prayer, O LORD; give ear to my pleas for mercy! In your faithfulness answer me, in your righteousness!
Therefore my spirit faints within me; my heart within me is appalled. 
I remember the days of old; I meditate on all that you have done; I ponder the work of your hands. 
I stretch out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land. Selah. 
Answer me quickly, O LORD! My spirit fails! Hide not your face from me, lest I be like those who go down to the pit. 
  Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul. 

Psalm 143:1, 4-8
“O God, who by the glorious resurrection of your Son Jesus Christ destroyed death and brought life and immortality to light: Gran that I, who have been raised with him, may abide in his presence and rejoice in the hope of eternal glory; through Jesus Christ my Lord, to whom, with you and the Holy Spirit, be dominion and praise for ever and ever. Amen.” (The Divine Hours)

(From Solid Joys)

Saul also went to his home at Gibeah, and with him went men of valor whose hearts God had touched.
1 Samuel 10:26

John Piper finds something in this verse that is extraordinary. It’s all wrapped up in this phrase, “whose hearts God had touched.”

God touched the hearts of these men. “The One with infinite power in the universe. The One with infinite authority and infinite wisdom and infinite love and infinite goodness and infinite purity and infinite justice. That One touched their heart.”

In comparison, Piper asks, “How does the circumference of Jupiter touch the edge of a molecule? Let alone penetrate to its nucleus?” Even that comparison falls short, because God is infinitely bigger than we are.

Nevertheless, God can touch our hearts! What makes this awesome is that it’s not just inspiration or divine influence. It is a touch; a connection. Something real.

Do you know this touch? I do. I know what it feels like to have God touch my heart. I could never describe it to you, other than by saying that it is something quite amazing. Words cannot do it justice. And it’s something that I covet, day and night.

“Oh, for the touch of God! If it comes with fire, so be it. If it comes with water, so be it. If it comes with wind, let it come, O God. If it comes with thunder and lightning, let us bow before it.

O Lord, come. Come that close. Burn and soak and blow and crash. Or still and small, come. Come all the way. Touch our hearts.”

Yes, Father, bring your touch to my heart today. Make it such that there is no doubt what has happened. I know that you see me and know me, better and more completely than I could ever know myself. But that is not enough. I desire your touch, your connection with my heart that can be compared with nothing else.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

