The Ant Heap

Today is Wednesday, April 19, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Follow love and it will flee, flee love and it will follow thee.” ~ John Gay

Word of the Day

Kerfuffle ~ a fuss: commotion.

Today is Bicycle Day. Oddly enough, this has less to do with bicycles than you might think. Apparently, it commemorates the first time that Dr. Albert Hoffmann took LSD on purpose. He had discovered it three days earlier. When he started feeling “odd,” he decided to ride his bicycle home.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Oh, fear the LORD, you his saints, for those who fear him have no lack! 
The young lions suffer want and hunger; but those who seek the LORD lack no good thing.

Psalm 34:9-10
Be gracious to me, O Lord, for to you do I cry all the day.
Psalm 86:3
With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments!
Psalm 119:10
I will give to the LORD the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the LORD, the Most High.
Psalm 7:17
I will extol you, O LORD, for you have drawn me up and have not let my foes rejoice over me. 
O LORD my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me. 
O LORD, you have brought up my soul from Sheol; you restored me to life from among those who go down to the pit. 
  Sing praises to the LORD, O you his saints, and give thanks to his holy name. 
For his anger is but for a moment, and his favor is for a lifetime. Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning.

Psalm 30:1-5

(From Living the Message)

Eugene Peterson is a fan of Jeremiah (the prophet, not the bullfrog)(he might be a fan of the bullfrog, I don’t know, but this is about the prophet). The current group of readings centers around him. Today’s is short.

“We live in a society that tries to diminish us to the level of the ant heap so that we scurry mindlessly, getting and consuming. It is essential to take counteraction. Jeremiah is counteraction: a well-developed human being, mature and robust, living by faith.”

There is much truth in these few sentences. And, sadly, what is true for our society is true for many of the churches that exist in that society. Much of modern “Christianity” has been reduced to consumerism. But Christianity is not a commodity to be consumed. It is a life to be lived. Over and over, Dallas Willard calls us to participate in the life, in the “easy yoke” of Jesus Christ. The Gospel that Jesus preached was simple. “The Kingdom of God is near!” The Kingdom of God is at hand. It is available to us, here and now. This life that we are trying to live is not about the basic minimum requirements to get into heaven when we die. That’s the consumerist mindset that says that. This life is about abundant life here and now!

Jesus said, “Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness?”
Matthew 5:13A (The Message)

Father, help me get out of the ant heap. You have been moving me in that direction for a number of years, now, but I still find myself entrenched in the consumerism attitude of our society. Please keep moving me beyond that, into the easy yoke of Jesus, the Kingdom life that walks in the words and steps of Jesus. Teach me your/his ways that I may walk in your/his truth. Help me to be “salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth.” Let me not lose my saltiness.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

